One of these two is FOS.

From Heismanpundit’s “The Spread Spreads” – in which he maintains that the reason Florida’s point production in Meyer’s two years in the SEC has been middling is because Meyer has deliberately chosen to hold things back:

… If the spread works, why did it only score 21 points against SEC teams? Well, I think the answer is clear: it didn’t need to score more. How long should a man’s legs be? Answer: Long enough to touch the ground.

… Going into most conference games, Meyer knew that the other team couldn’t score against his defense, so why open things up? He played the percentages.

From Dennis Dodd’s column today:

Urban Meyer: Second year, SEC and national championship. Maybe the first head coach to develop a “scoring coach” in the face of quality SEC defenses. “(The SEC) is like the NFL. How many NFL teams line up, hand the ball off and methodically move down the field? … I’ve never seen that happen. Instead of sitting there figuring out how to run the zone play, (offensive coordinator) Dan Mullen and I sit there and say, ‘How do we score?’ … Other places I’ve been it’s never been that extreme,” he said.

Sorry, but I can’t resist. I’m weak like that.

3 Comments

Filed under The Blogosphere

3 responses to “One of these two is FOS.

  1. kckd

    I agree. I’ve always found that thinking “we don’t score because we’re playing the percentages” fuzzy logic.

    I can understand it if you get way up on someone and choose to run the ball from there on out, but to get way up you have to score points first.

    The idea that you are choosing to keep a game within seven points to “play the percentages” makes no sense. Last time I checked the percentages of getting a win were pretty damn good when you got up by a lot of points and not as good if you led by just a few.

  2. Pingback: Making the rounds, bloggy style « Get The Picture

  3. Pingback: Saban gets kissed; Fisher gets dissed. « Get The Picture