Steeleoids

Fall practice is in full swing. Pundits and bloggers alike are laying out their preseason predictions, conventional and not so conventional.

Me? I’m not feeling too big on predicting the future right now. I can’t even figure out who Georgia’s five starters on the offensive line are yet.

I’d rather deal with the here and the now, kitten.

So, I’m turning to the master of the fine detail, the man who believes from the very depths of his soul that there is no meaningless game or statistic in college football, for guidance.

Each day leading up to the start of the season, I’m going to post some fact or trend about an SEC team that Phil Steele has unearthed.  Significant? Valueless? You be the judge. All I know is the guy is drinking 108 freakin’ ounces of Mountain Dew before noon every day of his obsession driven life to bring you people the truth. So pay attention.

I’ve selected the first Steeleoid to honor the initial SEC contest of the season, LSU vs. Mississippi State. It ain’t pretty.

Mississippi State is just 1-14 vs. LSU since 1992. The average score of the last six games is 42-7, LSU. The Bulldogs have lost seven straight SEC openers.

Somewhat surprisingly, Vegas ain’t buying the historical spread story for this game.  MSU is a mere seventeen point underdog right now.  Guys, you’ve been warned – you ignore Steele’s data at your own risk.

1 Comment

Filed under Phil Steele Makes My Eyes Water, SEC Football

One response to “Steeleoids

  1. Pingback: Opening night! « Get The Picture