I thought Bayesian was a soccer-style kicker from the 70’s.

The initial Sagarin ratings for ’07 are out. I took a peak just to see if he ranks Appalachian State higher than Michigan (he does).

But here’s the thing. Does anyone really understand how he scores and ranks the schools? His explanation reads like badly written operating instructions for a Korean DVD player. This is what I’m talking about:

"For the first few weeks of the season, the starting ratings
have weight in the process(BAYESIAN), but once the teams are
all CONNECTED, then the starting ratings are no longer used
and all teams are started equal and the ELO-CHESS is then
done in an UNBIASED manner from that point on."

Say what?

You know, I like to think I’m a reasonably intelligent person. I’ve got a post-graduate degree. And I don’t have a clue what that means.

But I’ve got to question any formula that ranks a Chan Gailey-coached team third in the nation.

Comments Off

Filed under Georgia Tech Football, Stats Geek!

Comments are closed.