You’re freakin’ me out, man.

The big story so far this week is that, for the first time since 2001, Georgia has closed its practice to outsiders.

Coming so close on the heels of the Patriots cheating story in the NFL, given that Saban has prior links to Belichick, and that Miami was accused of cheating while Saban coached there, it’s been natural for the press to try to play this decision as the result of Richt being concerned that the ‘Bama staff may be guilty of trying to spy on Georgia practices.

Hence, the “P” word has reared its head.

The thing is, though, reading between the lines of this AJ-C story, it sounds as though the Georgia staff is reacting more to what it felt went on in the South Carolina game than to what Saban might be up to.   Ching agrees.

Regardless of the motivation, since there’s no concrete evidence, the decision to close practice does come off a little strangely.  But I’ve got to say that if you read this Gregg Easterbrook column at ESPN.com about the extent to which the Patriots/Belichick are accused of cheating, you’ll come off feeling that a little paranoia might not be such a bad thing.

4 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, It's Just Bidness

4 responses to “You’re freakin’ me out, man.

  1. Ally

    Maybe I’m old school, but I don’t get why so many fans are upset about this. It should’ve been done a long time ago, imo. No one outside the program has “the right” to know what goes on during practices. No one has the NEED to know either.
    We’ve been so accumstomed to getting information immediately that we assume it’s our right, rather than a privilege.
    CMR said it best last night – like it or not, winning is important in college sports. If winning means info for the media, fans, etc. needs to be sacrificed then so be it.
    I like Ching, but personally don’t give a crap if his boxers (or anyone else’s for that matter) are in a bunch over being shut out of practice. Tough – get over it. Write about something else.
    Fans need to decide if it’s more important to win or if its more important to have daily updates on what flavor gatorade the players were sipping. Either way, now we can’t have both. I’m okay with that. I choose winning.

  2. I don’t sense that Georgia fans are that upset by Richt’s decision. The media is making a lot out of it, though I suspect that some of that results from the mess with Belichick.

  3. Ally

    True.
    My logic is probably flawed when I brought the fans into the picture. Just read a lot of negative reaction on message boards (I know) and ajc blogs.

  4. Tenn_Dawg

    I agree with Alley that all practices should be closed. I find it interesting though that Pete Carrol at USC opens the entire practices to anybody though.