Don’t shoot the Harbaugh.

Read that quote one more time:

“Michigan is a good school and I got a good education there,” he said, “but the athletic department has ways to get borderline guys in and, when they’re in, they steer them to courses in sports communications. They’re adulated when they’re playing, but when they get out, the people who adulated them won’t hire them.”

Then read about kinesiology. Here’s the wrap up:

… Yet Basten can’t help but express concern for some of the athletes he teaches in his introductory courses, and worry about how they’ll fare as their academic careers at Michigan continue.

“I actually went to study table a few times because kids asked,” Basten said. “A lot of these kids, their reading levels couldn’t have been higher than sixth grade, seventh grade.

“I had one guy ask me what the word ‘bureaucracy’ meant, and how to sound it out. I was thinking: ‘How do they survive?’ I don’t know.”

The point here isn’t that Michigan is something worse than many, many others are. It’s that the school doesn’t look any better.

Comments Off

Filed under Academics? Academics.

Comments are closed.