The daily outrage

Far be it from me to object to anyone who wants to play up Joe Hamilton’s all too brief tenure as Georgia Tech’s assistant director of player personnel (was it shorter than O’Leary’s stint as the Notre Dame head coach?), but it seems to me that using that as a jumping off point to argue that “If sports has ever spent seven days in a more negative spotlight than the past seven, I’d hate to see it…” seems a bit overwrought.

Maybe it’s just me, but I can think of a few things off the top of my head that make Carmelo Anthony’s speeding ticket pale in comparison. Such as…

I know the editorial is trying to make a quantity over quality argument, but even that falls short. It just goes to show what a short shelf life these kind of events tend to have in the public’s mind.

*********************************************************************

UPDATE: So maybe he was a little premature.

2 Comments

Filed under Crime and Punishment, Media Punditry/Foibles

2 responses to “The daily outrage

  1. This was the line that got me –

    Certainly the terrorist attack at the 1972 Munich Olympics was worse, but that’s a single event, a crime and tragedy of unimaginable proportions.

    Yeah, OK, so Joe Hamilton getting arrested isn’t as bad as the massacre of the Israeli athletes in Munich. But Joe Hamilton getting arrested and Roger Clemens poking his wee-wee where it doesn’t belong? In the same week that a Kentucky Derby horse gets euthanized? Munich, schmunich, I say!

  2. Dr. Tom

    Joe Hamilton getting arrested could just as easily have been Joe Hamilton crashes into rear of car and kills family. Thank God for getting him off the road with the former headline!