Damn good dawg

I just heard Rick Neuheisel tell this story on ESPN Gameday:

One quarterback who didn’t have much success in an opener was Neuheisel. When the Bruins opened the 1983 season at Georgia, Neuheisel received a pregame omen from the team’s bulldog mascot.

“Uga threw up on my cleats during warmups,” Neuheisel said. “I threw four interceptions.”

The good news is that the dog puke washed off during the deluge that came down during the game – the hardest rain I’ve ever sat through at a football game.

6 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

6 responses to “Damn good dawg

  1. CLTDawg

    I remember that game. Couldn’t hide from the rain anywhere.

  2. DirkDawggler

    I don’t remember anything after halftime of that game. Haven’t touched Wild Turkey 101 since.

  3. rick

    Charley Dean!

  4. georgiagirl1120

    I think it is ironic that Craft threw 4 interceptions in his first game UNDER Neuheisel…but he still beat the Vols. What does that say about our lovely orange rivals?

  5. 81Dog

    Senator, you should have been at the Hall of Fame Bowl in Tampa versus Boston College in (I think) 1985. It rained so hard I thought I was going to drown…and then we blew the game, and I wished I had drowned. But I’m ok now.

    That UCLA game in Athens was indeed a frog strangler. It’s interesting to me that, as the talking heads bleat on about how “UGA hasnt played a non-conference game outside the south since the Andrew Jackson administration,” they overlook the fact that UCLA bailed out on our scheduled game in Los Angeles in 1984. They bought their way out of it (and avoided what seemed to be another butt kicking). We should at least get some credit for that.

  6. HVL Dawg

    I was there!