Tuesday tidbits

Mostly Georgia/South Carolina related stuff, but worth a peek:

  • Ah, the Bulldog Hotline.  Feel the Dawgnation’s angst.  Mark Richt sure is a patient man.
  • The Athens Banner-Herald has all the details on the Dawgs’ travel plans this week.
  • Paul Westerdawg speculates on Georgia’s options covering Jared Cook last Saturday and concludes none of them were that great.  (Personally, I’m still trying to get over Moe Frickin’ Brown’s career day.)
  • Gregg Doyel works his magic and pulls off a trick I didn’t think anyone could do:  he makes me sympathize with Steve Spurrier.  By the way, dude, when a quarterback’s career day involves leading his team to a loss in which it scores a total of seven points and he throws a game ending interception, that should clue you in to the fact that it hasn’t been much of a career.
  • I didn’t like feeling sympathy for Spurrier, so I watched his post-game presser.  That did the trick.
  • There’s a fine line between confidence and detachment from reality, and Tony Franklin sounds like a man determined to map the border.  His view of the offense after Auburn’s 3-2 blowout of Mississippi State?  “It’s scary how close we are.” Roger that, Houston.
7 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, Media Punditry/Foibles, SEC Football, The Evil Genius, Tony Franklin - Misunderstood Genius

7 responses to “Tuesday tidbits

  1. squarebush

    I love this quote:

    “I really want the coaches to get back and start doing their thing on the filmwork on their end,” Lomax said. “I think the players will be ready.”

  2. NebraskaDawg

    Yeah Tony, It’s scary how close you are to getting shut out.

  3. NCT

    Tony Franklin’s comment? I’m not sure about the “close” bit, but he definitely got the “scary” part right. They’re lucky Auburn’s D is, once again, holding up their side of the bargain. Let’s hope the pattern of their defensive performances from the past couple of years holds up through our game.

  4. DirkDawggler

    In regards to Tony Franklin, the crew of Apollo 13 said about the same thing, “It’s scary how close to the moon we are.” Roger that, too, Houston.

  5. dean

    Typical Spurrier. Never compliments the opposing team, especially Georgia, for their game plan. It’s funny he mentions they should have scored 17 points but doesn’t say anything about what we should have scored (at least 24 by my count).

    The more I read about Tony Franklin the less I worry about Auburn. His game plan to cure the penalties and the fumbles is build some team chemistry and game plan less. Let me know how that works out for ya pal.

  6. Christian

    If I were Tony, despite all his accolades, I wouldn’t be looking for new property to build his dream. If Tubby has proved anything, it is that he’ll blow a coordinator out of there without thinking.

    My real fear of course is that they’ll get their act together by…..November.

  7. peacedog

    Close to scoring a TD?