Not bad for a rookie

Think true freshman A. J. Green is having an impressive year?  You’d be right.

… Green’s 49-yard catch down the left sideline set up his diving 17-yard touchdown that put Georgia up 7-0. He has 573 receiving yards through seven games, a total that would have led the 2005 and the 2006 Bulldogs in those seasons.

Sean Bailey led the Bulldogs last year with 615 yards.

And he’s just scratching the surface, it seems.

“I’ve learned a lot from the first game,” Green said. “I don’t have to ask people what my route is and stuff like that. Now I can just go out there and play my game.”

4 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

4 responses to “Not bad for a rookie

  1. mattr

    Ever get the feeling that maybe the big 12 is a little soft? I dare say, come play in the land that plays some defense and your records might not be so great!!

  2. NebraskaDawg

    Does anyone question that the Dawgs O has as much talent as any Big 12 South team? (if our o-line was at full strength) So why don’t we ever seem to put it together? Play calling and discipline are to me the main difference.

  3. JasonC

    One thing I have noticed is that the coaches are much more content to only go with MoMass and Green as opposed the the WR carousel of the past few years. Goodman has made some nice catches, as have others, but it is really shaping up to be mainly those 2 guys.

  4. dean

    FWIW, Green is only 17 catches from tying the UGA Freshman record for receptions in a season. At his current pace he should break this record by the AU game.