Fergit, hell.

It’s strange, sometimes, what players use to gin up emotion for a big game.

Some of the LSU players are pointing to a three year old game as motivation for Saturday’s game with Georgia.

LSU football players insisted Monday they have the Bulldogs, not Georgia, on their minds.

The two traditional powers haven’t played each other much over the years, but — this being Southern football — something must have happened somewhere to put an edge of grudge to the meeting, right?

Right.

The most recent something was the 2005 Southeastern Conference championship game in which a No.¤3-ranked LSU team went to Atlanta and got smacked around by Georgia in a 34-14 loss.

LSU defensive end Tyson Jackson said he recalled the crushing defeat “like it was yesterday.” Jackson was one of several seniors that mentioned the humiliation they felt after that game.

“It was a real bad feeling,” guard Herman Johnson said. “Nobody liked that plane ride home, everybody was real upset. I’ve wanted to play them ever since that game.”

“There are only so many times in life you get a second chance, especially dealing with college football,” LSU defensive lineman Marlon Favorite said. “But to have Georgia on our schedule my senior year, being as how they beat us back in ’05, that’s definitely something that has been in the back of my mind.”

Hmm… makes you wonder how they feel about getting embarrassed by the Gators a couple of weeks ago.

6 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

6 responses to “Fergit, hell.

  1. 81Dog

    I hope this is as successful a motivator for LSU as the 06 clowning of AU by UGA was for the War Tiger Plains Eagles.

    You can only imagine what dark threats of revenge we’ll be hearing about next week from the consensus 2008 SEC champions. Their butt whuppin’ should be a lot fresher in their minds, and in the mind of Urban Meyer.

    and dont forget, AU has another clowning to seethe over. And of course, there’s GTU, who we’ve been smacking around like the pinata at a Mexican birthday party since the turn of the century.

    Maybe we should just forfeit all our remaining games except for UK. They never seem to mind getting beat too much. We may have a glimmer of hope if we actually played them. Everyone else? We’re dooooooooooooooooooooomed. Just ask them.

  2. Rusty

    Doyathink the players at the Dome in ’05 remembered being absolutely destroyed between the hedges in ’04?…That was a smackdown for the ages that resulted in a revenge game the next year that produced…ANOTHER smackdown.
    Revenge is rarely a pertinent factor in anything but paperback novels or movies.

  3. A lesson in revenge…

    Inigo Montoya: My father was slaughtered by a six-fingered man. He was a great swordmaker, my father. When the six-fingered man appeared and requested a special sword. My father took the job. He slaved a year before it was done.
    [Shows the Man in Black the sword]

    Man in Black: I’ve never seen its equal.

    Inigo Montoya: The six-fingered man returned and demanded it, but at one tenth his promised price, my father refused. Without a word, the six-fingered man slashed him through the heart. I loved my father. So naturally, I challenged his murderer to a duel. I failed. The six-fingered man left me alive, but he gave me these.
    [strokes the scars on his cheeks]

    Man in Black: How old were you?

    Inigo Montoya: I was eleven years old. And when I was strong enough, I dedicated my life to the study of fencing. So the next time we meet, I will not fail. I will go up to the six-fingered man and say, “Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

    Man in Black: [intrigued] You’ve done nothing but sword-play?

    Inigo Montoya: More pursue than study lately. You see, I cannot find him… it’s been twenty years now and I’m starting to lose confidence. I just work for Vizzini to pay the bills. There’s not a lot of money in revenge.

    Later…

    Inigo Montoya: Is very strange. I have been in the revenge business so long, now that it’s over, I don’t know what to do with the rest of my life.

    Westley: Have you ever considered piracy? You’d make a wonderful Dread Pirate Roberts.

  4. 81Dog

    My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.

    (I’m pretty sure that no one on the LSU roster is named Montoya, and I’m positive Mark Richt doesnt have six fingers. We should be ok.)

  5. holdonasec

    LSU’s 3 Deep walk-on punter: Hector Montoya

    S**T!!

  6. 81Dog

    That is excellent research. I stand corrected. Any word on Hector’s prowess with a sword?

    “My name is Hector Montoya. You killed my team’s bid to win the SEC in 2005. Now you must lose.”

    Doesnt quite have the same ring to it, but it’s very theatrical.