Kiffin watch: pumping gas and taking names

The hardest thing about Junior-blogging is keeping up.  The guy spews up so much post-worthy material that at times it’s quite difficult to catch everything.

This is my way of apologizing to you, dear readers.  In discussing the lastest from the Laner – the “pumping gas for the rest of your miserable life” sales pitch to a South Carolina signee – I missed a hanging curve ball.  I like to think I’m better than that, but, as I said, it’s tough sometimes.

Anyway, just to refresh everyone’s memory, here’s what Junior said in the heat of battle:

According to Jeffrey and Wilson, Kiffin told Jeffrey that if he chose the Gamecocks, he would end up pumping gas for the rest of his life like all the other players from that state who had gone to South Carolina.

I’d say that was a primo example of negative recruiting.  Except that Junior’s on record as saying he never, ever indulges in that kind of behavior.

“The biggest shock to me is how much negative recruiting there is in this conference,” Kiffin said. “We don’t do that. There are so many great programs, I would think they would want to sell their own teams. I’m shocked at how concerned other programs are with us, being that we’re a new staff and we didn’t have a very successful year last year.”

He said that on January 24th.  Now some of you might conclude from this that Junior is a hypocritical butthead who says what he thinks will get him through the next five minutes of his life.  And I can see how you might think that.  Me, I think he’s simply a quick learner.

I give lawvol credit for having a sense of humor about this.  I get the feeling he’s gonna need it for a while.  Junior is the best thing to happen to college football blogging, at least from my selfish perspective, since Reggie Ball.  And trust me, that’s high praise indeed.

1 Comment

Filed under Don't Mess With Lane Kiffin

One response to “Kiffin watch: pumping gas and taking names

  1. You know, recruiting was supposed to be this staff’s strong suit. And then they lose their top two in-state prospects and now this guy, in spite of hiring one of South Carolina’s top recruiters.

    I’m reminded of the conversation with the Bobs on “Office Space:”

    Bob Slydell: What would you say ya do here?
    Tom Smykowski: Well look, I already told you! I deal with the goddamn customers so the engineers don’t have to! I have people skills! I am good at dealing with people! Can’t you understand that? What the hell is wrong with you people?