Kiffin watch: a defense and a (potential) attack

Isn’t this nice.  A writer for the San Francisco Chronicle leaps to Junior’s defense on the “gas pumping” incident.  The Laner should be believed because he’s too young to know any better:

Kiffin has, however, denied saying that he told a recruit who rejected the Vols that he “would end up pumping gas for the rest of his life like all of the other players” who stayed in South Carolina to play ball.

We have to believe Kiffin on this. He’s only 33; he can’t possibly remember the era of full-service gas stations…

Um… the kid who accused Kiffin of making the statement is about half Junior’s age.  Wouldn’t the same defense apply to him, in spades?

By the way, is this the point where I should mention that there are two full service gas stations operating a mile from my house?

On another front, I’m surprised this has taken so long.  What have you guys been waiting for?

3 Comments

Filed under Don't Mess With Lane Kiffin, Media Punditry/Foibles, The Blogosphere

3 responses to “Kiffin watch: a defense and a (potential) attack

  1. NebraskaDawg

    Could have been worse, he could of said “mopping up at the peep show.” I’d rather pump gas.

  2. Oneviewdawg

    Just read the Kiffin-Raiders letter.

    A: is this for real, and who is the co-addressee (UT-counsel?).

    B: Since I no longer have time to hate Tennessee (I am saving all my hate for Florida.) I just shake my head…maybe Al Davis is not such a bad guy after all.

    The more I think about it, the more I realize this could actually be a real problem for the Vols.

    Tsk, Tsk.

  3. Wolfman

    This is probably one of the 150 SF Chronicle employees laid off today.