Dawg’s guide to SEC viewing

Here’s today’s conference slate:

  • Alabama-Birmingham @ Tennessee, 12:00
  • 1 Alabama @ 11 Arkansas, 3:30
  • Kentucky @ 8 Florida, 7:00
  • Georgia @ Mississippi State, 7:00
  • Fresno State @ Mississippi, 7:30
  • 15 South Carolina @ 14 Auburn, 7:45
  • 21 West Virginia @ 12 Louisiana State, 9:15

First of all, who stacked up the times like that?  Five overlapping games in the 7-10 PM time range?  My satellite box is going to commit suicide – DVR only goes so far.

As for the non-conference games, I usually root for the SEC more than the specific team.  I don’t expect Tennessee or LSU to disappoint, but that Ole Miss match up has me feeling a little queasy about the outcome.

I’ll be hoping for an Arkansas win simply because it will make last Saturday’s loss in Athens easier to swallow, but in reality I don’t see how the Hogs stay in this game.  If Aaron Murray managed to scorch the Arkansas secondary despite six sacks and no A.J. Green, how are they going to stop a much more consistent Alabama passing attack?

A Gator loss is always an enjoyable event.  I just don’t think it’s a likely one today.  From a tactical standpoint, it probably doesn’t matter much to Georgia which school wins, since the Dawgs still have to play both.  If Florida is destined to win, let’s just hope it’s ugly.

Georgia needs an Auburn win tonight, which is why I expect the Tigers will lose.  Seriously, South Carolina matches up very well with Auburn, and Spurrier isn’t going to make the same dumb mistake the Clemson coaching staff did by giving 10+ carries to a back not named Lattimore.  I think for Auburn to win, the Tigers are going to have to throw the ball successfully.  I’m still skeptical that Newton is ready to carry his team in that fashion, although, again, I hope I’m wrong.

11 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, SEC Football

11 responses to “Dawg’s guide to SEC viewing

  1. Macallanlover

    I made this observation earlier in the week, the number of SEC games that get stacked uon top of one another is happening more often this season. I much prefer blaming the WWL, and will anyway, but the CBS demand for mid-afternoon exclusivity is the more likely culprit (along with ADs not playing enough OOC BCS competition on the road.)

    It appears from your SEC analysis you must have listened in on my call to the bookie, I bet just about exactly along those lines. We should establish a website and sell this insight to desperate bettors who would, deservedly, fill our coffers with gold to have a look into the future every Saturday.

  2. PatinDC

    Why is it bad for UGA if USC beats AU? I hope they run the table and then our loss doesn’t look so bad.

    • Turd Ferguson

      Until it’s no longer even possible, I’ll still hold out hope for a run at the East. In order for that to happen, SC needs to start losing some conference games. The “I hope they run the table” idea applies to Arkansas, but not to any teams in the SEC East. Not yet, at least.

    • Reptillicide

      Because South Carolina traditionally tanks in the second half, and with games against Auburn, Alabama and Florida still remaining, they could very well take 3 conference losses and keep us in the hunt.

  3. Hobnail_Boot

    Has kickoff been announced yet for the UT game? I have no doubt that Adams and Co. are lobbying for a “late” 12:20 or so kickoff.

    • Macallanlover

      Nothing finalized yet, but we look to be the 3rd best choice for SEC contests that day behind Bama/SC and LSU/UF. I expect one of those to get the 3:30 CBS slot, and the other to get ESPN at 7:45. I would bet on the noon ESPN time, or the 12:20 SEC game. Best case for us would be an overlap of the night game, but we seem cursed with sucky times this year.

      • Macallanlover

        I should add, depending on what happens today, the Auburn Kentucky game could make us the 4th pick for attractive SEC games.

  4. Turd Ferguson

    My wish list:

    1. A Georgia win
    2. An Auburn win
    3. An NC State win
    4. An ugly, multiple-overtime Kentucky win