It really was a woodshed game.

It’s been easy for some to dismiss the results in the Vanderbilt game because, after all, it was just Vanderbilt and that’s what Vanderbilt does.

Except, as John Pennington notes, that really hasn’t been the case lately.  That was Vanderbilt’s first shutout loss in seven seasons.  Georgia’s average margin of victory from 2005-9 was just over 10 points per game.

Even more impressive is Phil Steele’s game grade, which is how he assesses the level of dominance in a team’s win, taking into account point differential, yardage differential and opponent.  Georgia finished third last week.  For more context, check out Georgia’s grades in its 2010 and 2009 games here.

In short, it was by far the best performance this team has achieved over the last season and a half.  And it was also the worst beating Vanderbilt’s taken over that same period.  So no, it wasn’t a case of “just Vanderbilt”.

17 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, Phil Steele Makes My Eyes Water

17 responses to “It really was a woodshed game.

  1. Go Dawgs!

    We need to see if we can’t get Joker and Urban to put that “Snap the Ball Past the Quarterback” play into the playbook. It’s easily our best play.

    • Puffdawg

      UF already has it and has used it this season.

      • Biggus Rickus

        Watching Pouncey snap the ball this season has been one of the few pleasures I’ve taken out of it. It hasn’t been as bad as the opener, but Brantley has had to either jump or reach down for every other snap.

  2. Brandon

    My response to “It’s just Vandy or Tennessee” has been “what else were we supposed to do?” we beat both about as badly as you could expect. Does that mean I think we’ll run the table? Hell no, I hope so, I’m not going to slash my wrist if we don’t as long as we don’t, but I’ll give credit where credit is due and say we’ve played pretty well the last couple of weeks.

  3. Normaltown Mike

    It should also be pointed out that the last season we were stinkin it up this bad, Vandy whipped us 43-30 in Sanford and ran up 400+ of RUSHING yards.

    • Brandon

      Goff…years…must…not…think of. Seriously, unless you were a Georgia fan through those you have no concept of how bad it can get.

      • Biggus Rickus

        I was there for that debacle against Vandy. And honestly, that one wasn’t as bad as the meltdown against Auburn in ’99. Maybe I had already resigned myself to that ’93 team being awful.

        • Brandon

          Yeah I was there for Auburn 99′ as well. Ben Leard. When no names start gashing your defense that is when you need to be concerned. We may have gone 8-4 in 99′ but the four losses were to UT, UF, AUB, and GT. I’d rather not even field a team than lose to those four in the same year. Last year’s 8-5 was a hell of a lot more satisfying because we beat Auburn and Tech.

          • Normaltown Mike

            IMHO Vandy was worse b/c we were bad in so many areas that season. Most noticeably, our line play stink stank stunk.

            Aubie ’99 we had one stupid coach putting an inexperienced player in a really bad spot. Over and over and over and over. That player (Tim Wansley) turned out pretty good. After getting his lunch eaten so many times in that game, he had to get better.

            BTW Kevin Ramsey just took his visor off and threw his sunglasses down.

            • Brandon

              Anytime you have a guy come through the door who says his defensive philosophy is to create more turnovers you are in trouble. You can do things to increase your chances of increasing turnovers sure but a majority of it is luck and how good the other team is at protecting the ball, its something you hope happens if you play soundly but it shouldn’t be your baseline goal.

  4. Irishdawg

    “Seriously, unless you were a Georgia fan through those you have no concept of how bad it can get.”

    I’m UGA class of ’96, so I know this pain deeply. I watched the ’92 team, oozing with talent, lose two games by less than 10 points. Every season after that was utter misery.

    • Will Q

      Every time I see the scores of the UT and UF games from ’92 (when I was a sophomore and foolishly thought great times were soon to come for the Dawgs), I throw up in my mouth a little.

    • Brandon

      I kicked my basketball goal over after watching UGA-UT in 92′, it was 35-31 if I remember and we turned it over 5 or 6 times. The whole season was the biggest waste of a great offense I have ever seen. Hell of a shame.

  5. Irishdawg

    And I agree that we shouldn’t poo-poo the Vandy beatdown. Vanderbilt’s a scrappy team, and are capable of giving teams trouble. We beat the brakes off them and it could have been even more gruesome.

    I’m not saying we’re a dominant team now, but the boys deserve credit for the last two weeks.

    • Newt

      Exactly. Like I said to the guy next to me at the game midway through the 3rd quarter. “I expected us to win today, but not by 30.”

  6. scdawg

    Kentucky is a scrappy team.