Housekeeping note

For some reason, WordPress has decided to retire the format that I’ve used at GTP from the blog’s inception and replace it with one which has more bells and whistles.  I’m an “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” kind of guy, so I can’t say I’m particularly thrilled with this version of progress.  Fortunately, the new format accepts the old header, so JB and VD are safe.

I don’t like the way the blog looks with the new format as much as I did before, but there’s not much I can do about it.  The bells and whistles I mentioned include color changes and format changes, but what I’ve seen when I mess around with those look even worse.

Anyway, it is what it is.  If you’ve got any comments or criticisms, let me know, even if there may not be a lot I can change.

30 Comments

Filed under GTP Stuff

30 responses to “Housekeeping note

  1. Russ

    Looks pretty much the same to me.

    BTW, if anybody messes with Vince and the Godfather, there’s going to be blood spilled. Just sayin’.

  2. piper

    wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t said anything.

  3. c dawg

    I hope it blocks playoff versus BCS discussion.

  4. JBJ

    That is funny. I was noticing the font in the reply box was different on another post, then I read this one. I just thought it was my browser. Anyway, looks pretty good to me.

    I’m an “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” kind of guy…

    I picture you sitting around with a big pile of 8 tracks and VCR tapes.

  5. Bryant Denny

    Looks good, Senator.

    On a side note, I just figured out yesterday who the two guys are in the banner picture. What a doofus.

    Have a good day,

    BD

  6. Prov

    On the plus side it only prints 3 pages per post now instead of the 12 useless pages the old format gave you. If you like to, um, travel with the blog as I do.

  7. Go Dawgs!

    it’s not too bad, but I did notice it. For a second I thought I’d sniffed too much glue last night.

  8. GShock

    I feel like a lesser fan for asking this, but what is the context behind the banner image?

  9. Marshall

    I actually like the new format Senator…it is a little different though.

    Kudos on the vinyl collection–mine has varied from around 250 to 400 depending on how I’m feeling on buying or selling…I’ve got a lot of crap but have some nice ones including just about every Who, Kiss, Allman Bros., and Dixie Dregs ablums ever made including 3 versions of the Who’s “Tommy” (studio, movie soundtrack, and symphonic). I also have what I consider to be some real gems including Gerry Rafferty’s “City to City” (Baker Street & Right Down the Line) and Jay Ferguson’s “Thunder Island.” That album’s title track is what I consider the greatest rock/pop song of all time!

    • NRBQ

      Agreed on Jay Ferguson, Marshall. I’ve still got all the Spirit vinyl, Joe-Joe Gunne, and Randy California’s “Kaptain Kopter.”

      Used to be close friends with the Dregs (in Augusta). I’ve seen them play or rehearse a hundred times, and they were always exhilarating.

      • “Run Run Run” is one of my all time favorites.

      • Marshall

        Hanging out w/ the Dregs? Watching them practice??? Dude, that is awesome ! I got to see Steve Morse once in the 90′s when he was playing w/ Deep Purple–helluva show! W/
        Spirit I’ve got 12 Dreams, and I’ve got the Shakedown Cruise solo album as well.

        • Marshall

          Good call on “Run, Run, Run” Senator.

          Interesting trivia, and y’all might already know this, but theme music for NBC’s “THe Office”. Mr. Jay Ferguson himself.

        • NRBQ

          Find the debut album. “Fresh Garbage” is a must.

  10. bba

    RIP smiley face.

    you blew it up! you blew it up! damn you wordpress, damn you all to hell!

    there’s just not enough smiley faces in the world.

  11. the Coondawg

    This is the best format going (generally speaking). It is the easiest one that I can check on my Blackberry and one that I do not have to sign on through Google with. I love it.

  12. Ausdawg85

    I hate Florida. I hate Auburn. I hate the nats. I hate Spurrier. All from my iPhone. Huh..,guess this new format works!