Tressel to Ohio State fans: “we’re” in this together.

This is some apology.

“But I can tell you this,” he said. “I consider all of you a part of the Buckeye Nation. I sincerely apologize for what we’ve been through. I apologize for the fact I wasn’t able to find the ones to partner with to handle our difficult and complex situation.

“I also apologize because I’m going to have some sanctions. But the mission doesn’t change. That’s the pledge I have to you. The mission I’ve always had is we make sure we help young people change their lives.”

Where’s the “I’m sorry for screwing the program over by lying through my teeth to the NCAA”?  Or, how about “It was wrong looking those kids in the eye knowing that I wasn’t being honest about what I knew then”?

I guess it’s all okay since he’s on a mission.  It’s the same mission he’s had all along – to win as many games in a season as he can.

38 Comments

Filed under Big Ten Football

38 responses to “Tressel to Ohio State fans: “we’re” in this together.

  1. Hogbody Spradlin

    “I apologize for the fact I wasn’t able to find the ones to partner with to handle our difficult and complex situation.”

    What the Sam Hill does that mean?

    • joe

      It means he couldn’t find the right person to make it all go away, either by hiding the facts or washing the evidence away. He couldn’t find a good cleaner. For that he is very apologetic!

    • Ubiquitous GA Alum

      It’s like saying, “I’m sorry the lamp was in the path of the ball I threw inside the family room.”

  2. Wow. “I apologize for what we’ve been through” — couldn’t even finish the sentence before he was lumping himself in with the victims.

    Looks like the “Senator” nickname is even more appropriate than any of us thought. The use of word salad to avoid taking responsibility for anything, the cheap pseudo-patriotic appeals to “Buckeye Nation” to get the fans on his side . . . the man really is a master politician. And if those fans fall for it, they’re just as dumb as the voters who yell “throw the bums out!” every two years only to cast their ballots for the exact same people who’ve been screwing them for decades..

  3. TennesseeDawg

    “We” didn’t do shit, it was all “you”, Tressel. Also, the rest of the athletic department salutes you (with a middle finger) since you threw them all under the bus with the “I couldn’t find a partner” B.S.

  4. Go Dawgs!

    “I apologize for insulting your intelligence by continuing to lie directly to your faces with engineered phrases like, ‘I couldn’t find the ones to partner with to handle our difficult and complex situation’ when we all know that any forthright person would have immediately found the one to partner with down the hall from my office behind the door marked ‘Athletic Director’, with whom I partner to handle all other complex situations. Further, I apologize for expecting you to believe that this situation was, in fact, ‘difficult and complex’ when, in fact, it wasn’t. In reality, when I found out that five of my star players were violating NCAA rules, the situation was cut and dried. I had players who were breaking the rules, and I chose not to report it. The situation only became complex after my lies of omission. I thank you for continuing to believe in the mission, which is to win championships at all costs while also chiding members of the SEC for being on the same mission, talking down to them about our high-minded Big 10 ideals. I thank you for your support in this difficult time, all of which was of my own making, and look forward to you eating up the lies I spoon-feed you for years to come.”

  5. Ubiquitous GA Alum

    In sharp contrast, read CMR’s appology to the league office for the endzone celebration pentaly …

    “I apologize that I put everyone in that situation and specifically apologize to you, the Southeastern Conference, and the University of Florida. You can be assured I will not ask our team to do this type of thing again.”

    Notice that he didn’t say “I apologize that the endzone was in the same area where our brave players decided to spontaneously celebrate.”

  6. Ohio suspended this sleaze for 2 games against cupcakes (= merely 2 days) but he still can call recruits during those games, whereas Richt got punished for one month by UGA. Richt should probably also self flagellate in front of the Dawg fans in television. Is UGA not overdoing this punishment thing? Or is the AD grand standing?

    • Go Dawgs!

      It’s certainly a discussion worth having. I hope the topic has come up on the top floor of Butts-Mehre. I’m thrilled that Georgia appears so willing to toe the line on compliance, but when all of a sudden nobody else is and the governing body itself is no longer interested in enforcing its own rules, the possibility exists that you’re just the chump who didn’t get the memo.

      I would rather lose every game than cheat, and that’s why I took the last five or six years of UGA basketball without much complaint, because I was humiliated by Jim Harrick and losing clean felt better. That said, if you’re running 85 down the interstate and you’re riding next to a police officer who doesn’t care, is speeding really that big a deal? Do you really need to slow down?

      • Mayor of Dawgtown

        To continue the metaphor about the police officer who doesn’t care and the interstate, add to it that everybody else is doing 85 and we are only doing 70–and whoever arrives to the common destination first wins all the marbles. That’s where we are as a program regarding the SEC and the NCAA. I actually think that instead of respecting us for being honest the other teams are secretly laughing at us for being so stupid.

    • I think this came down from the SEC office.

      • Macallanlover

        The same SEC office who had no problem with the Newton family, or Fairley’s year long illegal hits? That one?

  7. I wanna Red Cup

    Mistakes were made. We could not find a co-conspirator to help us. Where was Cam’s father when we needed him. In fact, we don’t remember what we were told or when. We are not here to talk about the past. We did not have sex with that woman.

  8. 69Dawg

    Let’s look at the B1G’s response to the lie. It’s the classic it’s not my problem by Delany, lets wait and see what the NCAA will do, that way I’m not going to piss off the Ohio State fans. Contrast this with the hammer the SEC brought against the most humble coach in the SEC the Reverent Mark Richt. I found out in business and in government if you take your punishment without complaint people will line up to punish you. We just keep being the patsy for the whole league.

    • A fantastic point about Delany, and one I hope the media don’t forget about. For all his arrogance about the Big Ten’s moral superiority in terms of academics, oversigning, NCAA compliance and damn near everything else, Delany is perfectly happy to look the other way when it’s one of his own programs under the microscope. He had no problem with tOSU’s Tattooed Five getting to play in the Sugar Bowl for completely arbitrary “reasons,” and he’s shown no inclination to do anything to Tressel beyond keeping him off the sidelines for two cupcake games, either. I’d love for Tressel to get sledgehammered by the NCAA because of all this, but the real enjoyment for me will come from the embarrassment it brings Delany and tOSU’s whimpering pansy of a president.

    • Scott W.

      Fantastic point. Punishing UGA to the fullest extent everytime they self report might make them feel as the conference isn’t rotten to the core.

  9. Mr. Tu

    He is unbelieveable. He owed a duty to OSU as an employee and to the NCAAA as head coach of OSU to obey the rules. He chucked that aside based on an alleged request for confidentiality to someone he owed no duty to-the lawyer/tispster.
    Yet, there was no resonable expectation of confidentiality even from him. Why would the guy tip him off if he did not want him to do something with the information. In fact, Tressel stated up front he was gonna get on it, “ASAP.” If the tipster wanted the info kept “confidential”, he would have told him not to. Further, the tipster later told Tressel to specifically advise the players what to do. Again, Tressel promised to act, but did nothing.

    Tressell lied not only to OSU and the NCAA, but he lied to the tipster, as well. He lied to protect his season and he is still lying today. The sad part is he will likely escape with no further punishment

  10. Normaltown Mike

    Too bad Woody Hayes didn’t think of this defense.

    “I apologize for the fact that the Clemson player ran into my extended closed hand and wasn’t able to avoid running into same extended closed hand…”

    • Mayor of Dawgtown

      “and that I was unable to find a partner who could pull me away before impact between my closed hand and the Clemson player’s head.”

  11. Gene Chizik

    I guess Mr.SweaterVest finally realizes my “ALL IN” and “FAMILY” messaging is a great distraction and cover-up for “CHEATERS WIN”.

  12. Dog in Fla

    “I apologize for the fact I wasn’t able to find the ones to partner with to handle our difficult and complex situation.”

    Now, let’s get stoned, drunk and naked.

  13. Cojones

    For UGA fans to self-flagellate is even worse. Can’t some of you lawyahs help by directing our angst to the spot that hasn’t made a decision yet? We don’t need to be putting the words in the NCAA’s mouth that will give Tressel a follow-up wrist slap. We need to vent our anger toward the NCAA that will force them to consider twice before they act this time. How much input do they get from fan perception? The NCAA only has time to read the pundit’s articles from major sports outlets like ESPN. Seen anything critical from ESPN since Schlabach’s article? You’ve seen some eerie and creepy journalism from some of them using the same language as Tressel, but where is the beef that should be projected in said articles? It ain’t there! They write about what JTU (James Tressel U) did as punishment, not what should have been done nor what the NCAA should do.

    The NCAA doesn’t hear our voices on these blogs. A campaign should be started to let them know how we feel before the NCAA makes a fatal mistake. So far UGA has openly reported all known violations and there is no reason to believe there are secrets in the woodpile. If we want the perception of fair treatment across the board then we should act before the NCAA hands down it’s decision instead of running around in circles like angry ants afterwards.

    What say you Dawg fans? Lawyah-driven online petitions might be a start. And quickly before they get wind of it at NCAA and make a preemptive decision strike.

    Why do I feel like an outraged Libyan waving the flag and headed west before Gadhafi strikes back?

    • Go Dawgs!

      The problem is that in terms of “journalism”, a reporter can’t really say what “should” have been done to Tressel and tOSU. They can only report facts, and if the NCAA rulebook doesn’t have a set punishment, then there’s not a set punishment that they can report. Now, columnists are different, and in the world of opinion writing there have been several different viewpoints offered. But what it comes down to is that the NCAA has no constituency other than the university presidents. They don’t necessarily need to respond to our views on the matter. I mean, could you let your wallet speak and organize some huge boycott? Sure. But would very many people actually do that? Not a chance.

  14. Cojones

    What we need is leadership to vent and demand that the NCAA fully explain why they have:

    1. NOT fairly punished JTU to the same standards of other schools.

    2. NOT mentioned the voiding of games played with ineligible players.

    3. NOT voided the Sugar Bowl win by JTU played with ineligible players.

    4. Not mentioned any ongoing investigation by authorities as to what else was used as barter besides tattoos by the tattoo parlor owner who was under investigation for illegal drug activity. Do you mean to tell me that we think he gave these players $30-$50 tattoos in exchange for the same uniform items that AJ received $1000 cash for (a jersey)? Think again. NOT!!

    5. NOT deposed Tressel in a court document as to all he knew about the NCAA illegality plus the Federal illegalities that occurred at the tattoo parlor.

    6. NOT deposed players in sworn statements as to what happened in a tattoo parlor that was under investigation for illegal drug sales. I don’t mean some namby-pamby statement to the NCAA for breaking their rules.

    7.NOT asked the players if and what Tressel divulged to them when telling them to keep their mouth’s shut until after season.

    8.NOT vacated and reversed their previous punishment rulings on players, coach and university in light of the conspiracy by a football coach to lie to them and ostensibly to his university.

    9.NOT ruled earlier that the AD and JTU lost control over their program since they stated that they didn’t know about the transgression.

    10. NOT shut down the football program in light of unknown matters that continue to come to light and implicates the NCAA investigatory as feckless and amateur.

    This is lengthy and is ceased, but I haven’t finished yet.

    • NOT deposed Tressel in a court document as to all he knew about the NCAA illegality plus the Federal illegalities that occurred at the tattoo parlor.

      The NCAA lacks subpoena power to compel testimony.

  15. Cojones

    How much of a wallet does it take for internet literates with sites to put up a statement for online signatures that can be correlated to e-mail address? Legal documents can be signed in that manner. I’m posing the question because I sincerely consider myself to be computer and internet illiterate.

  16. Everytime Tressel speaks, I think he’s a bigger scumbag.

  17. Texas_Dawg

    It would be nice if you someday got as angry about players being lied to and being kicked out of school as you get about players being paid.

    • It would be nice if you bothered to read my posts carefully.

      • Texas_Dawg

        I do. I also note the quantity of them on given topics.

        That’s how I’m able to see the differences here.

        Rivals are sports taunted, and occasionally an Urban Meyer or two are seriously condemned, but for the most part within the SEC it’s sports taunting backed by support over outsiders where needed. The serious
        bashing of school officials and representatives (refs and conference officials are pretty much disliked everywhere I guess) is only brought out with non-SEC schools, especially those in the Big 10.

        Anyway, just saying. Even though the majority of them do a far greater amount of damage to our school than Jim Tressel and any Big 10 schools ever could, I’m not expecting you to start ripping on SEC schools more than Big 10 schools any time soon. But you have made some progress lately, so there’s some hope here.

        • The serious bashing of school officials and representatives (refs and conference officials are pretty much disliked everywhere I guess) is only brought out with non-SEC schools, especially those in the Big 10.

          I guess it depends on what you mean by “serious bashing”. Off the top of my head, I can think of posts of mine criticizing Miles, Nutt, Saban and Spurrier over the very things you question me about. I may not be rabid enough about those things to suit you, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t objected.

  18. Scott

    “Fambly. All In. Oops, that one is already taken….my bad”.

  19. Bin

    more ncaa hypocrisy. I tried to find an email to send this but couldn’t find one.

    http://life.atlantafalcons.com/topic/3917451-ncaa-double-standard/