Does the NCAA have a sense of humor?

I just received this exciting offer from the NCAA in my e-mail inbox.

The 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship Regional Rounds are coming to Atlanta, GA March 23 & 25, 2012 hosted by Georgia Tech University and held at the Georgia Dome! You have the opportunity to purchase tickets before they go on sale to the general public.  [Emphasis added.]

I’d like to think that was done on purpose.  It’s the romantic in me.

You’d better look quickly.  I’m guessing that won’t be up for very long.

************************************************************************

UPDATE:  They’ve resent the e-mail with the word “University” omitted.  I guess that shoots down my sense of humor theory.

12 Comments

Filed under Georgia Tech Football, The NCAA

12 responses to “Does the NCAA have a sense of humor?

  1. Newt

    It’s already edited.

  2. Go Dawgs!

    Someone’s going to pay for this. Just as soon as Radakovich gets out his 12-sided dice, someone at the NCAA’s gonna get smited with about 500-hit points of demon spawn wraith. Or whatever the hell it is a Yellow Jacket does to get even.

  3. Mayor of Dawgtown

    I always thought it was “University of Georgia Tech.”

    • TennesseeDawg

      No it’s THE Georgia Tech University kinda of like Ohio State.

    • Dog in Fla

      Me, too. Like the University of Auburn until somebody told me Tech was an Institute where if you’re one of the two dozen or so chicks enrolled, the odds are good but the goods are odd. The Tech girl, interrupted chicks however have their own delusions of grandeur about all the boys in the institution and are sorely disappointed when they discover that none of the boys in the institution have been placed there because of this nsfw reason

      • Bulldog Joe

        The Tech girl, after one month on campus, also has her own delusions of grandeur about herself.

        The ratio infects every marginally attractive female with TBS – Tech Bitch Syndrome.

  4. FisheriesDawg

    I got this as well. When I tried to actually see if I could get tickets it told me the event was restricted. Anybody else try?

  5. JS

    Reminds me of the trivia question the networks would always ask when televising GT football games. I’ll have to paraphrase a bit since I don’t recall the exact wording, but it was something like: Which five schools in D1 (FBS) football do not have the word ‘university’ as part of the school name?

    • NCT

      That’s a good piece of trivia to hold in one’s pocket. Many people don’t realize that it’s “Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University”.

      Three academies, one college, one institute.

  6. GreenDawg

    I’ve never understood why they don’t use the “Institute” in the acronym. GIT is such a fitting name for them.

  7. X-Dawg

    It works for Google, so that’s good enough for me.