A hot time will be had by all.

All I can say in response to this news is that I sure hope whoever is responsible for managing the concessions at Clemson home games has his or her act together better than the last time Georgia traveled to Death Valley.  Running out of ice in the second quarter on a humid day in the mid-90s ain’t my idea of efficient management.

Which reminds me of the oldest Clemson joke I know:  do you know why they don’t have ice water at Clemson?  The student who had the recipe graduated.  (I’ll be here all week; try the veal.)

15 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

15 responses to “A hot time will be had by all.

  1. JasonC

    Well, I know one Kyle that will be happy about that.

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    Rim Shot.

  3. anon

    Hell, Sanford has run out of bottled water for a home opener before…

  4. SCDawg

    I still remember waiting in the concession line for 20-25 minutes at halftime, then having the gate slammed down on me as soon as I reached the front of the line because they were out of ice. I said I’d take water with no ice because the hangover was really, really kicking in strong, and they proceeded to lock the gate and walk away.

  5. G

    That was the hottest football game I have ever been to in my life. Having no ice or water made it unbearable. But, the play of the field was pretty, pretty, pretty good.

  6. Macallanlover

    We are in no position to criticize anyone’s concession operation. Sanford remains the worst stadium for food/beverages I have ever been in. Inexcusable, and somehow it never gets addressed regardless of the AD in power.

    • The Rodfather

      I agree. The concessions @ Sanford are terrible. It’s a shame that with the resources UGA has, they can’t (won’t) provide a better offering to fans attending one of the greatest venues in the land. The only thing I will buy is water or powerade & I bring my own damn caps in.
      But hey, now you can get the same crap plus funnel cakes in Reed Plaza! It’s a football game, not a county fair. They need to focus on quality, & not so much variety.

  7. Go Dawgs!

    I still rip on my family members of the Clemson variety about running out of ice. And, for having their center puke on the ball (pretty sure it was the first series of the game, no less) and then hiking it to the quarterback. What a glorious day that was.

  8. rg

    At least ..on that hot arsse day..the Dawgs walked away with a win.
    As we did a prior game at Clemson.. it was their 100 anniversary of Football. We won and they let our fans on the field..the clock was still running with Dawgs on the field cheering “it’s great top be a Ga. Bulldog”
    Glad we keep fans off the field at Sanford.
    RG

  9. Reptillicide

    Definitely will make this road trip. Can you say “college gameday?”

  10. D.N. Nation

    Was at that game. Given that the fans were ready to park the U-Haul at Bowden’s place immediately after that 30-0 disaster, that he hung on for half a decade more is pretty remarkable.

  11. By Georgia We Did It

    I was there and the only game hotter was the “Man Enough” game in T-town which was in early October not pre-labor day.

    • Macallanlover

      Still cannot believe the heat for an October date. Luckily I had seats with a Bama friend that was in the shade most of the game. I would not have survived in those end zone seats facing the sun where many UGA fans were. Worst football game for heat I can ever remember…anywhere. It was a great SEC game though, but I wouldn’t go back and do it again if I knew it would be that hot. Changed my mind forever about domed stadiums, I have reached the age where I need them in the South for the heat, and the North for the cold. Guess I will have to become a San Diego State fan.

  12. CLT Dawg

    funniest part of the ’03 Clemson game was the ride in & listening to all those callers talk about how Clemson was gonna wipe the field w us that day – and then the complete 180 on the way home. If they could have gotten to Bowden that afternoon, his wife would be a widow.

    And that Bama game in ’02 was without a doubt the hottest game I have ever been to.

  13. RhymerDawg

    Clemson Joke:

    When Clemson decided to change their name from Clem College to Clemson, they had trouble deciding upon a name. So they decided to add the first letters of their school motto; shivalry, onor, and nowledge.

    I love this joke. Hope you do to.