Tape don’t lie.

This may be the first positive Coaches Poll story I’ve ever read.

… I heard plenty about that dreadful prediction on Twitter from the moment the Tide’s butt-kicking of the Irish began. Then, I get to the coaches convention in Nashville a few hours later. I run into Vanderbilt coach James Franklin. He tells me about all of the hate mail and such that he received for having voted Notre Dame No. 4 in the USA Today coaches poll last month… Franklin said Vandy had played Wake Forest the week after Notre Dame did, so through film study, Franklin had become very familiar with the Irish and how good they actually were.

Give Franklin credit for not traveling with the herd there, but I think that’s little more than a case of the exception proving the rule.

13 Comments

Filed under James Franklin Is Ready To Rumble, Notre Dame's Faint Echoes

13 responses to “Tape don’t lie.

  1. Cojones

    When he played UGA he was effusive in praise with the statement that we were the best team he had ever played. And he was correct.

    Maybe the good part of him that we ignored after our ignominious introduction to his team’s style of play is worth black and gold. He seems to have turned over a new leaf on the field and I certainly feel that his plaudits of our team this year were sincere. He should have a measure of respect from us for what he has done for the Vandy program and I’m in a forgiving mood. He has been plumb good in his SEC loyalty and appropriate admiration of good teams. His is the only vote for ND that I can say doesn’t follow the maddening crowd. All hail James Franklin!

    • Uglydawg

      Hear! Hear! I also applaud Coach Franklin for the same reasons.

    • AthensHomerDawg

      Sometimes we don’t see eye to eye but we usually see in the same direction. Not this time. The game was billed as a “grudge match” between the upstarts and the Dawgs. Georgia was Vandy’s fourth game after losing to Northwestern and uSC. Vandy did beat the “Presbyterian Blue Hose”. What is a Blue Hose anyway? At any rate, with the exception of the Nebraska qb, giving a h/t to the team that absolutely and completely dominated you is not that hard to do. What else could he say? We’ve played better teams they just didn’t spank us as hard?? Franklin’s praise (“A deception that elevate us is dearer than a host of low truths.”) was intended as more of a shot at the OBC. imho.

      I haven’t forgotten last years game and the post game boorish behavior of Mr. Franklin that nearly resulted in a Clemson/uSC style brawl. Pointing out a player on the field is not the way to go about game concerns. I don’t care if he was talking directly to the player,one of the coaches, or even the mascot. Pull the coach aside after the cameras are gone, or give the coach a call. Don’t go on the field yelling at a player or coach. That’s not classy. That is irresponsible.

      In spite of Franklin’s “huge kudos” praise which I have yet to find, I remember the tone of his less than honorable game plan in 2011. He cost us a suspension and certainly helped Geathers in his decision to go pro as inferred here on Bluto’s blog. .
      “I’ve played football and been around football all my life,” Robert Geathers Sr., told the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, “and if you watch it you see this kid speed up while everybody else is slowing down and he’s locked in on my son’s leg. If you look closely you can see the guy give a thumbs up to the sideline and the coach telling him ‘good job.’ I was, like, ‘Wow!’ I could be sitting here today telling you how my son’s surgery went.”
      .
      All Hail Franklin? Not this Dawg. “All Hail Dorothy.” It’ll take more than voting ND 4th and giving credit when credit is due to my Dawgs.

      Pre game UGa 2012-”I’m a very emotional, passionate guy. This is personal to me. But on the same hand I’m a guy who once things happen, I move on,” Franklin said.

      Post game uT 2011 “We’ll talk about it next year – a lot,” Franklin said. “We’ll talk about it as much as you guys want to talk about it next year. We’ll watch it as many times as we’ve got to watch it next year. That’s a wound that I’m going to leave open that’s not going to heal. We’ll leave it open for a year and we’ll discuss it next year.”

      Post game UGA 2012- “I have to give credit to Georgia. They are a very good football team and are ranked in the top five in the nation for a reason. I think the difference in the game was played up front, especially with their offensive line. They did a really good job of running the ball with power and forced us to load the box, which opened up the passing game on the outside.” Please ….please you are laying it on too thick. You explained the reason Georgia scored 48 but what about Vandy only scoring 3? ;-)

  2. AthensHomerDawg

    “Franklin had become very familiar with the Irish and how good they actually were.”
    Three teams stayed within 3 points of ND
    6-7 Purdue
    6-7 Pitt
    8-5 BYU looking at their schedule and conference will not impress.

  3. SCDawg

    Stop posting positive things about Coach Franklin. I had already made my mind up about him.

  4. Scorpio Jones, III

    Anchor up his ass.

  5. Gravidy

    Does anyone have a link to an article that tells how each coach voted in the final poll? If such a link exists, I haven’t found it.

  6. We are supposed to believe that he just doesn’t want to stick it to UGA?

  7. Macallanlover

    I really wish Franklin hadn’t pulled that stunt after the 2011 UGA/Vandy game. I want to like the guy for what he does well, and there is a lot of that, but I still want to beat him down again next year for 2011. I enjoyed this year’s result just fine, but like a great bone-in ribeye, it leaves me wanting more.

  8. Cosmic Dawg

    I think after the game a couple of years ago Franklin was doing what adults do around (really big) kids who act out – get their attention in a physical manner. I think if he’d actually happened to catch Wiliams he would have grabbed his facemask and given him a lecture…and I don’t think he was trying to pick a fight so much as arrest punkish behavior. Grantham was, to me, the one who was out of control. The chop blocks are another story.

    Anyway, that was my take – if you can watch this video and still hate Franklin, have at it.

    • AthensHomerDawg

      “I think if he’d actually happened to catch Wiliams he would have grabbed his facemask and given him a lecture…and I don’t think he was trying to pick a fight so much as arrest punkish behavior.”
      You can’t be serious? Wiliams is a little more than a big kid. He was a 20 old grown man. He is also a player for an opposing team. Any discipline comes from his own coaches. This is college football. It is not the place for a “it takes a village” style mentoring. The game was over and that is not the time or place for “drop down and give 20 son!” or putting your hands on a player that isn’t yours.
      As for the walk on scholly. OK it instills team unity and has a feel good moment. It is hardly unique to Franklin and Vandy. And it doesn’t cause me elevate Franklin because he rah rahed his team by awarding one.

      “ATHENS – For decades, coaches have enjoyed awarding what they call the “battlefield scholarship.” It’s that special moment enjoyed at least once a year when they get to call up a walkon before the team and deliver some good news.

      “Son, you’ve really showed us something the last few weeks and we want to show our appreciation by putting you on scholarship,” or so it goes.

      Thanks to some drastic attrition since last season, Georgia coach Mark Richt got to do that eight times on Thursday. “

  9. Cojones

    Some of us have moved on concerning Coach Franklin, some of us haven’t.

    Looking at it another way, a coach of ours received an uptick of 90k for that dustup because it certainly wasn’t for the porous D scheme provided on the field. Funny how your stock perception changes when you blow up and show great emotion on a sideline not known for such goings on. It makes you a great coach in so many eyes that we don’t want to revisit it for what it didn’t do for our D.