A coy Bobby Petrino?

Gag me with a spoon

Take us back in your career a bit. You were at Louisville and then jump to the NFL and the Jacksonville Jaguars. How’d that work?:

“I was sitting in the meeting room with my brother, Paul, and we were watching video from the year before, right around this time. … The secretary came in and said, ‘There’s a guy by the name of Tom Coughlin on the phone,’ and we both kind of laughed and joked, yeah right. … I went and got on the phone and Coach Coughlin told me his offensive coordinator just left and took the head job with the Cleveland Browns and he wanted to hire a young quarterback coach and grow him in to be the coordinator. … I flew down there, went through the interview. … I really didn’t want to take the job. I was real hesitant about taking it, but I didn’t want to look back 10 years from now and say, ‘What if I would’ve done it?’ … Went and did it and had a great experience.”

Seriously, does anybody believe it took Petrino more than a nanosecond to make up his mind on that career move?

6 Comments

Filed under Fall and Rise of Bobby Petrino

6 responses to “A coy Bobby Petrino?

  1. SCDawg

    And while he feels responsible for Arkansas’ 4-8 season, he didn’t mind too much getting in this dig.
    “The weight room, training room and locker room are way off the charts, way better than what we had at Arkansas.”

  2. ScoutDawg

    Damn, I usually don’t have a problem with a whore.

  3. Ubiquitous Ga Alum

    ‘What if I would’ve done it?’ … thought he was talking about the volleyball hottie here

  4. AlphaDawg

    Did Bobby leave his brother a note explaining he took another coaching job?