This Leonard Floyd talk is starting to freak me out, man.

I mean, holy crap.

“There is (one) name that everyone will need to know on UGA’s defense,” David Pollack, the ESPN commentator and former Georgia star defensive end, tweeted after visiting Georgia practice last week. “Leonard Floyd is a freshman OLB who will be the next great pass rusher at UGA. Long, lean and explosive.”

Fortunately, it doesn’t seem to be freaking Floyd out.

“I came in and worked hard, and been doing good, I guess,” Floyd said. “Really, if you play hard you’ll end up making a play. I wouldn’t say it was easy, but it was OK.”

I hope it’s real, because if nothing else, another serious pass rush threat will make Jordan Jenkins’ life easier.  Definitely something to watch in the opener.

13 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

13 responses to “This Leonard Floyd talk is starting to freak me out, man.

  1. DawgByte

    We need Floyd in Boyd’s face all game long!

  2. Skeptic Dawg

    Apparently Floyd is a bigger, stronger, faster version of Jarvis Jones. I hope his highlight reel is similar to that of Jones. Also, I have now heard from 2 sources that both Corey Moore (knee) and Tray Mathews (hamstring) are out for the Clemson game. Is this merely rumor?

  3. merely rumor
    Look through this list of posts and you will find what you are looking for. (Warning – Pay Site.) However, there is some news there that is not all good as far as otf issues yet to be disclosed.

    http://uga.rivals.com/rfFan.asp?Post=0&User=144626

    • Lakatos Intolerant

      Care to share (at a high level) what those posts discuss, both about the injury rumors and “otf” (off the field?) news?

  4. joeymarchant

    I watched Leonard for 3 years in high school. I dont know him personally. My only concerns were his ability to gain weight and his grades. He appears to have done fine in both areas. He seems to be very focused. I hate to compare his motor to Pollacks at this point but he has a good one, and he has a good nose for the ball.

  5. Mean Machine

    I looked around for the injuries that you spoke of to Corey Moore and Tray Matthews, and the only two publications that had posted it were The Red and Black and Bleacher Report. Bleacher Report seemed to be simply re-filing The Red and Black report with their own opinions.
    I’m not that concerned if they’re the only ones running with it. Everyone is trying to fill column inches on football right now, and that’s what they’ve come up with. Guys miss practice and wear green jerseys all the time. If it were next Thursday I’d be freaked out.

  6. DavetheDawg

    The injuries are concerning, but the severity is probably kept under wraps. I have a feeling the adrenaline boost that is sure to increase as we get closer to August 31 will begin to do some miraculous things.

  7. Todd

    Bowman is rumored to be out for otf issues.

  8. And watch him get a redshirt! Every spring and preseason there is a young guy or two that lights it up and is all the rage. Then…the season starts and, 3 games in, we find out that they’re getting a redshirt.

    It’s either that or the coaches are raving about one group to cover the deficiencies/injuries of another.

    I hope he is that good because the defense could use another great one, but I’ve read this book a few times.

  9. PlatoDawg

    There hasn’t been a kid with this much buzz at UGA in awhile,I have no idea what JAB0052 is talking about.Floyd is the real deal

  10. Keese

    Toby Johnson will also be a huge breakthrough player for us this year

  11. IveyLeaguer

    Refreshing. Simply refreshing.
    ~~~