Sunday morning buffet

We’re getting close and you need to eat.

11 Comments

Filed under Academics? Academics., Clemson: Auburn With A Lake, College Football, Crime and Punishment, Georgia Football, Media Punditry/Foibles, SEC Football, Stats Geek!, Urban Meyer Points and Stares

11 responses to “Sunday morning buffet

  1. “I had no idea that affected his play last season.”

    Wouldn’t at all surprise me if it does THIS year, though.

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    Yeah you’re right, Corch is still a dick.

  3. AthensHomerDawg

    Glad Bobo is getting some more love. He finished his senior year as the top rated passer in the SEC, Outback Bowl MVP and helped Georgia to a #11 ranking. Yeah he knows about offense. I am not sure Gruden it the tell all on qbs though. He thought Timmy T was going to be all world in the pros.
    UGa getting props for value is great but I would like to talk to someone about that 370 dollar textbook bill my son shared with me. WTH? It just so happens the majority of that $ is due to the 3 finance classes he had to take this semester. Those finance profs got it going on huh?

    • mg4life0331

      I almost got tore up last year with a book bill of nearly $900. Bio major with some lab books can be costly. Thanks GI Bill.

    • You think Georgia is the only place squeezing students on book costs?

      • AthensHomerDawg

        Not hardly but it is the only one I really have an interest in. Bookstores make about 20% on the sale of a textbook with 75% going directly to the publisher. Most of that 20% goes to maintaining salaries and the bookstore building. The current textbook industry is unsustainable and will likely go the way of the encyclopedia. Another bubble? Meanwhile students and student’s parents along with the GI Bill will carry it. I also have an interest in all the classrooms that Adams has built on campus that are being underused. I’m sure there are other colleges that have under utilized and expensive to maintain classroom space too though. Just sayin’

        • Anon

          Bookstores are the ones making bank on the books. Publishers only get paid once. Bookstores resell the same book year after year.

          • AthensHomerDawg

            I don’t know but I’m sure you’re right. Used books mean higher margins for the university to funnel back into their budget and lower costs for the students. Probably fine for literature but maybe not for the sciences. All my sons texts were new editions. Publishers must realize that their margins are diminished with used textbooks and work to get new editions out. The faculty that writes textbooks and uses these in their classes are probably fine with that process. At the end of the day it seems way wasteful and it all could be done efficiently digitally. It is a process that is evolving. That book store is sitting on some prime real estate.

  4. 69Dawg

    Welcome to the SEC A&M. Didn’t take Summerlin long to fit right in with the UF’s, LSU’s, Tennessee’s did it. I predict that he will go far in this league. When will these schools stop letting the coach dictate the punishment for players. The college administration would not let it’s regular students acting this way why (other than the money thing) should they let the Playa’s.

  5. Macallanlover

    Not something I am proud of but I agree with the AJC writer that Aaron and AJ should be 1 and 2 and ahead of Johnny Moron. I don’t know if anyone could say definitively who should be ranked 1, and who should be 2, but they are both huge assets to their teams. Not saying JM wasn’t last year, but I am not sure about his pure QBing skills, I readily admit he is truly the best scrambler of the three. I do know I would not play him this year because it seems an almost certainty that the Aggies will end up vacating wins over using him in 2013 as someone will break on this eventually, perhaps after he goes pro. The NCAA waited about 7 years to bust USC and it was obvious back in 2004 or so what Bush had done. A&M will be risking a lot, and probably for little gain. I just don’t see them beating bama with, or without him, so a title doesn’t look likely for this year. I think LSU finishes ahead of them too.

    I would give a slight edge to Murray because he has accomplished his stats with a lesser surrounding staff, especially the OL strength that AJ has enjoyed. I think Bama would have won their games with Murray but I don’t think McCarron would have fared as well with UGA’s personnel. Both are excellent, and great role models for their programs, it is easy to see why this gets debated.

  6. Macallanlover

    Corch is a dick, but a small one….he is a much bigger ass. Not saying he is as bad as Cheatzik but there is a commonality, I don’t think he would have won an SEC title without the GPOOE at the controls/available for four years while he was at FU, and I certainly don’t think Auburn would have come close to winning the SEC w/o Cammy the money man. They were both special athletes who raised their team to a new level, and would have regardless of who was the HC.

    Fair and balanced, Herschel did the same for Dooley, that three year period was way above Vince’s pay grade. Dooley did well for much of the time he was the HC but unbeaten in the SEC for three straight years was not due to him. But at least he did his thing ethically, and with class, so I am not putting him in the class of the other two except to say it influenced his rating as a coach.