Aaron Murray really likes his tailbacks.

Just ask him.

Q: I’d think Todd Gurley makes your life a lot easier, too.

A: Oh yeah. Watching film on him, he’s by far in my opinion — anyone who watched him would probably agree with me — the best player in the country. I don’t think there’s anyone like Todd.

Q: Player?

A: Player. I would take him. If we were doing a fantasy draft, I would take him first pick above anyone else. There’s no one like him out there.

Q: You talked during the offseason about getting him and Keith Marshall the ball through the air and both of them had touchdown catches against South Carolina. Obviously, that was a functional part of the offense on Saturday.

A: Oh yeah. We want to get those guys the ball any way we can. Both of them are tremendous out of the backfield. Everyone sees them as running, running, running, but I don’t think either of them have dropped a pass ever. Great hands, knock on wood, but both of them have great hands and like I said, you get the ball in their hands anyway possible and let them be them.

Q: Once they’re on the corner, it seems like it’s not even fair.

A: Yeah, it’s done. Especially Keith with his speed. You get Keith in the open field, and no one’s catching him.

They combined for three catches, 62 yards receiving and two touchdowns against South Carolina.  Throw in Hicks, who’s averaging better than 30 yards a catch, and that’s quite a group.  It’s early, but it’s looking like this is the best receiving backfield Richt’s had.

All I’m waiting on is for them to burn somebody on the wheel route.  Turnabout is fair play, after all.

3 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

3 responses to “Aaron Murray really likes his tailbacks.

  1. Marshall burned Nebraska on the wheel route. I’m waiting to see Marshall on a wheel route like Garrison Hearst did in Auburn in 1992.

  2. Trace

    “If we were doing a fantasy draft, I would take him first pick above anyone else. There’s no one like him out there.”

    Agreed. Gurley’s the best.

  3. pacific plate

    Same. Would take Gurley first, no homer