Spurrier’s problem with the media

… is evidently that he can’t walk and chew gum at the same time.

Spurrier being Spurrier, he discussed Finebaum for a few minutes and slipped in a nice jab at rival coaches.

“Oh, I do his show maybe twice a year,” he told me. “I don’t do a lot of them. We get a lot of requests all the time. Some head coaches they enjoy doing that and they feel like it’s positive publicity for their school and their team. I don’t like to do them all the time — I’m still coaching. When you’re trying to call the offense and run the plays you’ve got a lot on your mind. Most of the head coaches, that’s what they do, they talk to the media. They don’t coach anything so that’s what they do. They talk. I try to still coach.”

PAWWWLLL, I’m just wondering how thin the OBC’s schtick is wearing with his peers.  I’ll hang up and listen.

7 Comments

Filed under The Evil Genius

7 responses to “Spurrier’s problem with the media

  1. Procyon

    Does Spurrier have any friends?

  2. Noonan

    What a dick. Seeing as he hasn’t won a trophy in 14 years, maybe he should coach less.

  3. gastr1

    I’d just be really curious what happened in the NFL. In his words, exactly. (I must say, that was some pretty awesome schadenfreude back then. Oh, the memories.)

    • @gatriguy

      He got outworked, it wasn’t rocket science. He is able to be successful working banking hours in college, but they ate him alive doing that in the NFL.

      The other think is that NFL linebackers are a hell of a lot better in coverage than college linebackers, so a lot of his slants and crossing routes were negated. On top of that, NFL DC’s just brought an extra blitzer every play and since those routes don’t come open like the did in college, his QBs had to hold on to the ball a little longer, and got killed.