Mumme Poll ballot, Week 8

This isn’t getting any easier. But here goes (*tiebreaker):

  • Alabama
  • Auburn
  • Baylor
  • Clemson
  • FSU*
  • Miami
  • Missouri
  • Ohio State
  • Oregon
  • Stanford

Also considered:  Arizona State, LSU, Texas A&M, UCLA

I really struggled with the last two slots this week.  I’m not completely sold on Miami, but the ‘Canes are undefeated against a schedule that doesn’t completely suck.  And I admit there may be some SEC bias in slipping Auburn in there.  But Arizona State’s got that loss to Notre Dame and UCLA’s resume isn’t as strong, either.

It took me thirty minutes – again – to come up with this.  By now, I’m usually knocking a ballot out in half that time, so, yeah, this season’s been a challenge.

10 Comments

Filed under Mumme Poll

10 responses to “Mumme Poll ballot, Week 8

  1. Newt

    8 of the same 10 as you, but I went with Bama as my #1 and LSU/UCLA over Miami/Auburn. Miami would probably by my #11. The first 7 were really quick (including Bama at #1). I try not to look at any other rankings before I do this, so it took me a minute to remember Baylor. After that, I spent about 10 minutes on the last two spots (LSU & UCLA).

    • Sanford222view

      The first seven were quick for me and I have Oregon #1. I considered LSU, Clemson, Miami, VT, TT, UCLA, and Auburn for my final three spots. I chose Clemson, Texas Tech, and UCLA.

      UCLA is hanging on by a thread and their fate will be decided this weekend when they take on the Ducks. I still think Clemson is a Top 10 team even though they were crushed by FSU. They got a break since the SEC went crazy on Saturday. I still don’t believe in MIami but they will have chances to change my mind with big games on the schedule still to come. Texas Tech barely got in as well and will have to prove themselves over the next five games which is a gauntlet for them.

    • Sanford222view

      Newt, you from Fort Valley?

  2. hassan

    I think the first 6 or 7 are no brainers as well, but the rest are a pick ‘em. until about the 15th spot. I would expect a lot a variance this week in those last 4 spots on everyone’s ballot.

  3. Mayor of Dawgtown

    Senator. Clemson? Really?

    • hassan

      Clemson lost points with me after they played a team with a defense.

    • Peteydawg

      Yes, with great respect how could Clemson be put On the same footing? All they did was beat an Uga team that no longer exists. Fsu totally raped Clemson with the worst beat down in their history. I’d shutter to think of playing either team now though… ESP on their home field

  4. Peteydawg

    Fsu is On another level than everyone except Oregon and bama

  5. Chuck Franck

    Auburn? They got spanked already by the one good team they played.