There are many here among us who feel that life is but a joke.

There are on occasion these little sublime moments that I’m lucky to experience and appreciate for what they are as they unfold.  Such was the case last night.  I had a few friends, most of whom are Georgia fans, over at my house.  I order some pizza to be delivered.  The pizza delivery guy shows up – I shit you not – wearing a Georgia Tech windbreaker.  And I get him off my porch in the traditional way.  I could barely withhold the laughter until I got my door closed.

My life is the opposite of a Stingtalk punchline.  For which I’m eternally grateful.

34 Comments

Filed under Georgia Tech Football

34 responses to “There are many here among us who feel that life is but a joke.

  1. Bard Parker

    If it was Reggie Ball I would double-check to make sure you got the correct change

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    “Oh I’m the Rambling Wreck from Georgia Tech,
    And a Hell of an Engineer, Hey!”

  3. Scorpio Jones, III

    If he was a Tech student or graduate the chances are he would not be able to understand most of what you said to him, his first language being something other than English.

    Sides, them Walmart jackets for the Jacket Fans are always on sale at half-price. :)

  4. Mayor of Dawgtown

    You–have friends? Who’d a thunk it?

    • Surprisingly, yes, I do. I don’t even have to pay them to hang out with me. ;)

      • Macallanlover

        In the great Tech tradition though, it sounds like you enticed them with free pizza to hang around your campus for a few hours. Might have even thrown in a few shots of Woodford Reserve, or those other delightful small batch offerings I heard discussed here recently.

      • Is It September yet?

        You simply have to pay for the pizza.

  5. PTC DAWG

    Local joint or a chain?

  6. TennesseeDawg

    WHY DID YOU NOT GET A PICTURE OF THIS?! Instant classic.

  7. hunkerdowndawg

    In this instance, “working for us one day” means that calling in the pizza order and producing the sufficient currency to complete the transaction were “work” you performed and you did it for the Techie. See, Stingtalk gets it right.

  8. I Wanna Red Cup

    A group picture would have been nice

  9. Dolly Llama

    How do you “traditionally” get Tech Men off your front porch, Senator? Shotgun, boot tip up his ass, what?

  10. And you did tip him appropriately?

    • Russ

      So the fat chick wanted someone to bring a pizza to her door, yet she knew she didn’t have money for a tip? He should’ve taken a dump on her door step instead. Hey, if you don’t have enough for the tip then drive your lazy butt to the place and pick it up. Or eat ramen noodles.

    • dudetheplayer

      What a dumb bitch. Yeah, he’s going to come back and clean it up after getting stiffed and then fired.

      I don’t condone the bloke for pissing on her door, but the “I didn’t have money for the tip, but I did for the pizza” mentality is completely out of whack. Fuck people like this.

  11. Hobnail_Boot

    Thanks, Blutarsky. It’s now a Dylan day.

  12. Prosticutor

    And you want to drive your Mom’s used car and deliver pizza? YOU CAN DO THAT!

  13. Lrgk9

    I figure you got rid of him with a hearty Glory and to Hell chorus…

  14. Spike

    Too bad you didn’t get a pic. What a “Name That Caption” column that would be! I guy can dream can’t he?

  15. section Z alum

    and you doubt a Deity may not determine such?

  16. JonDawg

    I would have had a hard time resisting the urge to bark at him, myself.. :)

  17. WF Dawg

    Keep the change, you filthy animal.

  18. Bulldog Joe

    I am a Georgia graduate and delivered pizza for Sons. Subs and salads, too.

    There. I said it.

  19. Nashville West

    I am also a proud UGA graduate and I delivered pizza one summer before going to UGA. Best tip(s) I ever got was when a female customer answered the door buck nekkid. Bet the tech insects don’t get tips like that (and wouldn’t know what to do if they did).

    • Macallanlover

      Does “tip (s)” mean that delivery went more than one inning, or have you just forgotten all the details?

      This could actually be an excellent job in Athens for us senior guys, we would do it for free and are basically harmless anyway….around campus just looking would probably be enough for us.

    • Bulldog Joe

      Delivering pizza in Athens in those days would usually earn you a few Penthouse Forum encounters. Not just the students, either.

  20. Ole Dawg

    What gives Senator ? No Jimi palate cleanser with a title like that???

  21. JRW7

    Does the SENATOR really have to pay for pizza?