Musical palate cleanser, indulging the inner Gibb edition

Bruce Springsteen’s been touring Australia of late.  He’s indulged the locals with covers of some well-known Aussie bands.  But this has to be the topper – “Stayin’ Alive” as you’ve never heard it before.

(h/t PowerPop)  And from the comments there:

When I first saw the clip a few days before this post, this popped into my head (first read of it via Dave Marsh’s book “The Heart of Rock & Soul: The 1001 Greatest Singles Ever Made”):

“Look at great huge Maurice Gibb, singing like Donald Duck on ‘Stayin’ Alive,’” Roger Daltrey of the Who carped in 1978, then instantly added, “And that’s a great song. Bruce Springsteen could sing that lyric.”

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Musical palate cleanser, indulging the inner Gibb edition

  1. Hogbody Spradlin

    Hear, Hear, especially for all the acoustic electrical instruments.

  2. 202dawg

    I like this version also…

  3. Great music but while watching it I was reminded that the Big Man is no longer with us. Bummed me out for a minute.

  4. David K

    I still don’t get why Bruce put Tom Morello in the E Street Band. He’s a talented dude but it makes absolutely no sense. Every clip I see where he starts shredding some stupid guitar solo straight out of the 80′s, it sounds so out of place. I hate to think what he’s doing live to songs like “Jungleland.”

  5. Normaltown Mike

    For better or for worse, the Boss recently treated the Kiwis to a rendition of “Royal” by local pop singer Lorde

  6. JAX

    I stopped paying attention to Springsteen when he made his stage a political platform. Alot of folks, not just me, think he should leave his political opinions on the tour bus and just play his music. He’s the prototypical limousine liberal, spouting his bullshit whilst speeding up his mile-long Rumson, NJ driveway.

  7. I Wanna Red Cup

    Bruce must have found the string section on Milledge Ave. SMOKIN!

  8. shane#1

    I saw Bruce in his early days at a rock club in the ATL. He was pretty good but not the next Dylan, as he was being billed at the time. His band was great, he had this black dude on the old hammond organ that was as good as I have seen. I saw Ted in Atlanta in a battle of the bands It was okay if you are a head banger, but even then blowing up Mar5shall amps for the hell of it did not appeal to me. I saw Gracie Slick and Dave Crosby on a TV show once and Crosby mentioned hooking up with Springsteen, Gracie said,”Who would play lead guitar?”

  9. Ole Dawg

    My gosh, he gave Stayin’ Alive an addadicktomy. Love it!