Use of the term “ugay” is optional.

If you’ve got some spare time, they’re looking for a few good bloggers over at From The Rumble Seat.  Qualifications don’t appear to be too daunting:

Our ideal candidate:

  • Has strong knowledge about Georgia Tech, both current and historical.
  • Possesses strong writing skills.
  • Has a nose for news, both in knowing what is important and identifying where to find it.
  • Is able to write in line with our best practices for growing an audience.
  • Is able to write and publish quickly while remaining accurate.
  • Is a self-starter who can work with minimal direction.
  • Possesses solid communication skills.
  • Is comfortable working in a virtual environment.

I don’t see anything there about institutional loyalty, which means YOU CAN DO THAT!

Not willing to make the commitment? Well, at least you can take to the comments section here and suggest a few topics they might want to explore. Just tryin’ to help a blogger out, man.

14 Comments

Filed under Georgia Tech Football, The Blogosphere

14 responses to “Use of the term “ugay” is optional.

  1. Spike

    I see knowledge of football isn’t a requirement. Go figure…

  2. Skeeter

    Does spending countless hours on WoW, Minecraft and redtube count as being “comfortable working in a virtual environment”?

  3. 81Dog

    Nerds, I’m an honor graduate of a highly respected journalism school with a major in news/editorial. I grew up in Atlanta and have lived in Georgia my entire life (so far). Not only do I not require supervision, I resent it. I’m sort of famous for my snark, wit and intelligence. (Also, my humilty). I remember Bud Carson. I remember Rock Perdoni. I once saw Brent Cunningham come close to drowning in a large puddle during a Peach Bowl. I was present for the frozen fish hurling at your home field versus Notre Dame in 1978.

    In the interest of full disclosure, I admit that I have never played Humans versus Zombies, I do not speak Hindi, Mandarin, or Cantonese, and since kissing my first girl at age 6, I have kissed many, many women (most of whom voluntarily submitted to my advances).

    I’m waiting for your call! i bet you I could liven things up over there. :-)

    • AthensHomerDawg

      The 71 Peach Bowl was pretty wet.

      http://www.mmbolding.com/bowls/Peach_1971.htm

      • 81Dog

        it can accurately be described as “monsoon” conditions.

        Back in the 60s and 70s, my dad was active in the Lions Club, which sponsored the Peach Bowl originally as part of its charity Lighthouse for the Blind. As a result, he used to buy a lot of Peach Bowl tickets (as did a lot of other members statewide), so I got to go most years. The late December game date, which bounced around somewhat, usually ensured miserable weather. I saw Peach Bowls in sleet, snow, torrential rains, subfreezing temperatures, high winds, you name it.

        That 71 game was a monsoon year, and the field at Atlanta Stadium wasn’t exactly known then for its fabulous upkeep or drainage. I am not exaggerating much when I tell you that entire ball carriers would disappear in some of those puddles, especially a wee elf like Brent Cunningham, who I think was about 4 foot nothing and slightly more than 100 pounds (you should forgive the expression) soaking wet. He was a tough little guy, and very speedy, but he made Kelley Rhino look like Quayvon Hicks.

        The Dome is a vastly better venue than Atlanta Stadium ever was for watching a football game, and the Atlanta Sports Council has done a fine job of running the game, but those early years had a certain charm that is lost in a climate controlled atmosphere with excellent sight lines.

  4. tess

    “Paul Johnson: Great Coach or Greatest Coach?”

  5. DawgPhan

    Greatest Tech Coach or Great Coach.

  6. Bulldog Joe

    Possesses solid communication skills.

    He pretty much eliminated the entire Tech student and alumni base with that requirement.