Tuesday morning buffet

Eat; you look hungry.

  • StingTalk is always good for a chuckle“We should be getting great press about how there were over 2000 people huddled under the eaves for an off season scrimmage in the middle of a 45 degree torrential downpour, which was the actual truth. That’s a positive trajectory for Tech sports.”  Bless your heart.
  • It occurs to me that it won’t be that hard to figure out the fair market value for college football players’ memorabilia, if it ever comes to that.
  • And here’s a handy guideline to all the major stuff currently on the NCAA’s plate.  Yeah, Mark Emmert can handle that.
  • This is actually a pretty good idea.
  • Mike Slive says nobody’s talked to him about lowering the mandatory number of varsity sports required to be a Division I program.  (Jim Delany punches his speed dial after reading that.)
  • Atlanta wants to host college football’s national championship game in 2018.
  • Good stuff from Jeremy Fowler – anybody tells you they know what the consequences of unionization will turn out to be is making it up right now.
  • Michael Elkon wonders how the mix of special admissions for college athletes, increased athletic demands on those same kids and the “scholarship ought to be compensation enough” concept can be sustained.
14 Comments

Filed under Academics? Academics., BCS/Playoffs, College Football, Georgia Tech Football, It's Just Bidness, Look For The Union Label, The NCAA

14 responses to “Tuesday morning buffet

  1. No One Knows You're a Dawg

    Are we near the point where large number of students attend the Institute yet primarily support other college sports teams? It doesn’t seem impossible for there to be students earning their degrees from Tech who are nonetheless huge fans of Georgia football.

    Don’t a majority of Tech students already have an attitude of “Just here for the engineering degree”? I wouldn’t be surprised to find there are Tech graduates who buy UGA season tickets.

    • Dog in Fla

      Probably but only on the condition that No One Knows You’re a Dawg.
      Are you now or have you ever known an aeronautical engineer?

      • No One Knows You're a Dawg

        If you happen to check back and see this, I’m not an engineer although I have known a few. I had a good friend from high school go to Tech, and although I took calculus in high school, after the first 3 weeks of his freshman year I could no longer understand what he was learning. I would make a really bad engineer. I think of them as both necessary and obnoxious.

        My handle simply comes from the cartoon/joke “On the internet, no one knows you’re a dog.”

    • AthensHomerDawg

      I think the majority of Tech students that are into sports are cricket and soccer fans.

    • Bulldog Joe

      I doubt many of those “huddled under the eaves” were students. I’d wager there were more than a few Midtown street people there looking to get out of the rain.

      Give me your tired, your poor,
      Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
      The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
      Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed, to me.
      I lift my lamp beside the golden door.

  2. CannonDawg

    To quote Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald in the Jeremy Fowler piece, “I’m an advocate for change, I just don’t believe unionization is the way to go.”

    I fully agree with coach. I just wish I felt more confident that the NCAA could lead an effective, all-fronts charge, the net effect of which would be to thwart the union efforts. But I don’t.

    • Dog in Fla

      To quote Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald in the Jeremy Fowler piece, “I’m an advocate for change, I just don’t believe unionization is the way to go.”

      “And if any of you ************* vote for the union, your life under me is going to be absolutely miserable.”

      • Macallanlover

        Not unusual to see the words “unionization” and “absolutely miserable lives” closely linked. The CFB fans will be the ones miserable but the conmen live well ever after. And future players will pay the price just like those looking for manufacturing jobs now in once thriving communities, the sport will crumble. Unions are not about “fair votes”, note the Leftists’ latest intimidation tactic to require open ballot voting in union voting. Did Stalin do that first?

  3. DavetheDawg

    I hope the Techie who spun the “positive trajectory” nonsense doesn’t design rockets. Or any of the airplanes we fly on.

  4. darin smith

    I did not know where to put this but I thought some of you would get a good laugh. Ivory tower professor has his own opinion about college athletics.

    http://www.counterpunch.org/2014/04/22/why-higher-education-should-rid-itself-of-college-athletics/

    • Dog in Fla

      “The largest problem I have with college sports is not instrumental, but pedagogical.”

      What next, thespians

  5. Will (the other one)

    Considering they haven’t even properly broken ground on it, and the estimated opening is 2017, I have my doubts they could get the Stankonia Dome ready for a 2018 bowl game. “Atlanta” + “on time construction” doesn’t happen together often, and neither does “stadium” + “on time construction”.