Sad news

R.I.P., Clisby Clarke.  You were a DGD.

10 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

10 responses to “Sad news

  1. Slaw Dawg

    I’ll always associate “Bulldog Bite” and “Let the Big Dawg Eat” (and of course, a certain classic by a Mr. Brown) with the Herschel era and a few years before and after. At the time, you really thought we had it all–great team, best radio guy, great fans, great campus, great town and some paaarteees… all with the backdrop of these unique Dawg songs. RIP, Mr. Clarke–you helped define an era for many of us.

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    Iconic line: ‘75,000 of my closest friends’

  3. uglydawg

    Enjoy heaven! When you find Munson and Grizzard and all the others up there, wish them well for all of us who are waiting our turn! Woof!

  4. Russ

    RIP to Leo Costa as well.

    Thought Bulldog Bite was corny when it came out, but I still bought the picture disc and still listen to it when I’m trying to get fired up for a game.

    • AusDawg85

      I wonder how many of those picture disk/records still exist? Mine’s prominently displayed in my office bookshelf.

  5. CannonDawg

    Hats off to Clisby and Leo. I read where Charley Trippi and Leo were the last surviving members of the ’42 team and ’43 Rose Bowl victors over UCLA. Many of those players left for WWII service right after the season, including Heisman Trophy winner Frank Sinkwich. RIP.

  6. Bright Idea

    I remember when the 1980 seniors stood around the piano singing this song with Clarke on the Dooley Show. I believe it was taped on the practice field as I recall.

  7. Just Chuck (The Other One)

    McGarity wants a song to play on the scoreboard to get fans fired up. Think we already have one.