Urban Meyer and the “plus one”

It’s all a matter of perspective, ain’t it:

Q. Last year it worked out for Florida and Ohio State to play for the national championship. There’s been discussion about a plus one format where one would play four, two play three, winner of those two games play each other. What’s your opinion about that?

COACH MEYER: Opinions are strong. At Bowling Green I stood in front of a team that was 8 3, 9 3 and had to tell them they weren’t going to go to a Bowl game when they deserved to go to a Bowl game. They were good enough to play in a Bowl game. I think they were better than some teams that played. So did other coaches. That’s one of the tragedies of the system.

I think the Bowls should open up and take the most qualified teams to go play. Then I go to Utah, we had a team that on any given day, with Alex Smith at quarterback and the way we play defense, could we survive an SEC, Big 12? I don’t know that. That’s all relative. But I don’t know if we could survive that, be in that situation.

Utah, 12 0. If there’s a plus one, you go play that game, you go play for a national championship. Who knows. You have a good day and that’s a life changer for a university and a group of players.

You get to Florida, play in a game removed from the other Bowl games. I thought the atmosphere was terrific. If you had to play one more game after that, I’m just glad I’m not faced with a guy that has to make that decision. It’s an imperfect system. I think it’s the best what we have.

As long as we don’t change that whole Bowl I think the Bowl experience is too good for the student athlete to change. But I think continual discussion is necessary, and I think we got the best of what’s working. But I think every year that needs to be evaluated.

Pretty good way to not answer your question, wasn’t it (smiling)?

Comments Off on Urban Meyer and the “plus one”

Filed under BCS/Playoffs

Comments are closed.