“The national championship game was a bonus game…”

Little factoid from CBS Sportsline’s Dennis Dodd:

So how tough is the SEC? It’s easier to win back-to-back national championships these days than it is to defend an SEC title. [Emphasis added.] Nebraska (1994-1995) and USC (2003-2004) have won consecutive AP titles in the last 12 years.

There hasn’t been a repeat winner in the SEC since 1998. Only once in the past eight years has the SEC champion finished first in its division the next season.

That’s a little misleading in that if he’s using the period 1994 to present, he needs to account for Florida’s consecutive conference championships from ’94-’96. But coming forward from ’98, it’s pretty impressive, nonetheless.


Comments Off on “The national championship game was a bonus game…”

Filed under SEC Football

Comments are closed.