In a place where Tebow was recruited as a linebacker, all things are possible.

All those who want to accept their University of Florida scholarship offers, step forward.  Er… not so fast, Rahim Cassell.

And if this ain’t the understatement of the month, I don’t know what is.

… Cassell then finally reached Coach White and had an e-mail conversation. During the exchange, White helped calm the situation a bit, but Cassell does appear to be in a state of limbo.

The 6-foot-1, 215-pounder chose the Gators over Oregon, Nebraska, Arizona State, Cal, Boise State and Minnesota, among others.

Don’t think the coaches up in Oregon, Cassell’s second choice, aren’t watching this play out.

Heh.  Like that’s all they’re doing.  Or any number of SEC coaches you or I could name…

3 Comments

Filed under Recruiting, Urban Meyer Points and Stares

3 responses to “In a place where Tebow was recruited as a linebacker, all things are possible.

  1. philomath

    broken link?

    Like

  2. Hogbody Spradlin

    Sounds like the kid accepted before an offer was made. His high school coach should have instructed him better.

    Like

  3. Never a Doubt

    I hate to take up for Florida, as I generally assume the worst, but I can see them requiring a visit before a committment with respect to certain prospects because they don’t want prospects using them as a way of securing a position and then using that offer to shop around to find something better. That’s a cost you might be willing to incur with a kid from Jacksonville, but given the distance involved, you probably don’t want to make a habit of that for kids in distant regions. So you want to make sure their interest is serious before you accept the committment.

    That’s the most charitable view of what happened, and I’m trying to fight off my predisposition to assume the worst (though I’m not sure I’ve convinced myself that my default position isn’t the more likely one).

    Like