Mumme Poll 2010: We’re back, baby!

Get the Picture and 3rd Saturday in Blogtober are pleased to announce the return of everyone’s favorite fan poll/approval voting experiment for the 2010 season.

(If you need a refresher course on the Mumme Poll, check the page at the top here.)

Whether or not you participated last year, you will need to register to vote.  To do so, go to the site and click on the Not Registered? link there.

If you participated last year, take note of Tidefan’s message at the site.  Hopefully, we’ve come up with a useful way of tracking people who try to manipulate the voting through omission.  We’ll see how that works.

Just as in the first two seasons, the ballots cast after Week Five are purely for test purposes, so that we can make sure everything is running right.  There aren’t any Sunday games this weekend, so the balloting will open Sunday morning at nine.  Assuming all goes well, the official start will be with the games of Week Six.  You’ll be able to register to vote until Friday night, October 8th.

If you’ve got any questions or comments, let us know.  We’re looking forward to having another blast with this, and hope you guys will too.



Filed under Mumme Poll

12 responses to “Mumme Poll 2010: We’re back, baby!

  1. the Coondawg

    Can we extend the list of teams to 50 so I can get at least one vote in for my Dawgs????


  2. Russ

    The website isn’t working…nothing happens when I click “not registered?”. Just FYI.


  3. BoWeevil

    Here are the ACTUAL Mumme Rankings :

    Winning Percentage Coach at Current School

    .928 # 1 Chris Petersen Boise State 52-4 year 5
    .859 # 2 Urban Meyer Florida 61-10 year 6*
    .823 # 3 Mack Brown Texas 131-28 year 13
    .823 # 4 Jim Tressel Ohio State 98-21 year 10
    .823 # 5 Chip Kelly Oregon 14-3 year 2
    .822 # 6 Nick Saban Alabama 37-8 year 4*
    .812 # 7 Bob Stoops Oklahoma 121-28 year 12
    .795 # 8 Brian Kelly Cincinnati 35-9 year 4
    .785 # 9 Les Miles LSU 55-15 year 6*
    .760 # 10 Gary Patterson TCU 89-28 year 11
    .752 # 11 Joe Paterno Penn State 397-130-3 year 45
    .752 # 12 Mark Richt Georgia 91-30 year 10*

    After 2005 to-date :

    # 1 at 52-04 Boise State Chris Petersen
    # 2 at 52-07 Florida Urban Meyer
    # 3 at 48-08 Ohio State Jim Tressel
    # 4 at 48-09 Texas Mack Brown
    # 5 at 47-09 USC Lane Kiffin after Pete Carroll
    # 6 at 46-10 TCU Gary Patterson
    # 7 at 46-13 Oklahoma Bob Stoops
    # 8 at 44-12 BYU Bronco Mendenhall
    # 9 at 44-12 Utah Kyle Whittingham
    # 10 at 44-13 LSU Les Miles
    # 11 at 43-13 West Virginia Bill Stewart after Rich Rodriguez
    # 12 at 43-13 Penn State Joe Paterno
    # 13 at 43-15 Virginia Tech Frank Beamer
    # 14 at 42-15 Cincinnati Butch Jones after Brian Kelly
    # 15 at 40-17 Boston College Frank Spaziani Jeff Jagodzinski Tom O’Brien
    # 16 at 40-19 Central Michigan Dan Enos Butch Jones Jeff Quinn Brian Kelly
    # 17 at 42-14 Wisconsin Bret Bielema
    # 18 at 42-16 Missouri Gary Pinkel
    # 19 at 40-16 Oregon Chip Kelly after Mike Bellotti
    # 20 at 39-16 Texas Tech Tommy Tuberville Ruffin McNeill Mike Leach
    # 21 at 39-17 Georgia Bulldogs Coach Richt & his sorry butt “coaching staff”


    • Ausdawg85

      FIRE SABAN! Dude…thanks to picking a time period out of your hat, bammer’s not even on your select list. Fire the bum now before he screws-up repeating as National Champion, right?

      P.S. Looking at your first list, who do you go hire for UGA…Paterno? Certainly not that failure Saban. Stoops and Tressel choke. Maybe Kiffy with all his SEC experience? Wait, don’t tell me…Mike Leach!!

      P.P.S. Bonus question….Where does CMR rank among UGA head coaches?


  4. LAdawg (the other LA, not Lower Alabama)

    Back yet again for some West Coast Dawg bias! Looking forward to it. Thanks again, I anxiously anticipate this all year.



  5. Ausdawg85

    Senator…great work and effort, but I’ll be abstaining from registering this year because your experiment has already proved to work:

    There are ALWAYS idiots in every crowd, whether journalists, computer programmers, coaches or blog pollers…somebody’s going to throw in stupid votes to attempt to skew the results.


  6. Mike

    In. I enjoyed this last year and plan to regularly participate this year