We’ll always have Shreveport.

The SEC and the Independence Bowl… just like George Costanza.


Filed under SEC Football

6 responses to “We’ll always have Shreveport.

  1. Governor Milledge

    Two teams from the SEC will be guaranteed to play Georgia Tech annually


  2. The Lip Jar

    I for one, enjoyed Shreveport. They get a bad rap.


  3. Dog in Fla

    tSEC is proud to be a part of the Weedwacker Bowl formally known as the AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl fka the Poulan Weed-Eater Independence Bowl aka Weedwacker Bowl, almost but not quite known as the Deja Vu Strip Clubs Bowl, and the PetroSun Independence Bowl, a bowl with a proud tradition of independence from corporate sponsorships.*

    *”Although it has been many years since Poulan Weed-Eater has been a sponsor, many still use their name when referring to this bowl.
    Poulan (then a division of AB Electrolux Home Products, now Husqvarna AB) sponsored the game until 1996. Newell Rubbermaid’s Sanford brand of writing products took over sponsorship from 1998 until 2000, while MainStay Investments sponsored from 2001 to 2003. In January 2005, in what was widely perceived as a publicity stunt, the Deja Vu chain of “gentlemen’s clubs” offered to become the title sponsor. The offer was rejected.

    The Independence Bowl’s three-year search for a title sponsor ended on August 21, 2006 when PetroSun Inc., a Phoenix, Arizona-based company that provides services and products to suppliers of oil and gas, agreed to become the bowl’s sponsor. The deal, changing the game’s full name to the PetroSun Independence Bowl, was to have run through 2008 with an option for 2009; however the deal was discontinued prior to the 2008 game.
    On May 21, 2009, AdvoCare became the fifth title sponsor since the bowl’s inception. The bowl was then renamed the AdvoCare V100 Independence Bowl. The new title sponsor makes energy drinks and nutritional supplements sold through multilevel marketing.”

    Corporations are people too:
    AB Electrolux Home Products
    Poulan Weedeater (1990–1996)
    Sanford (1998–2000)
    MainStay Investments (2001–2003)
    PetroSun (2006–2007)
    AdvoCare (2009–present)



  4. Bulldog Joe

    So THIS must the reason Missouri and Texas A&M joined the SEC.


  5. Mayor of Dawgtown

    Why do we even need the so-called Champions Bowl tie-in with the Big 12 when we have the Independence Bowl tie-in with the ACC?