On the other hand, he doesn’t lack for confidence.

Jonathan Wallace starts at quarterback for Auburn today.  He may not be sure of how well he stands up to Georgia’s defense, but he’s certain about one thing:

“From what I think about Georgia, they are going to come for me and I’m going to have to make some plays,” Wallace says in this video. “That’s just what it’s going to come down to. Of course, we’re going to be able to run the ball some, but it’s really going to come down to whether or not I can make the plays that need to be made.”  [Emphasis added.]

They’ve got a good back in Tre Mason – although one of the complaints lobbed against Loeffler is that he hasn’t made enough use of Mason – but this team is only averaging 2.61 yards per game in rushing against conference opponents.  I guess Wallace is hoping the Georgia defense confuses Auburn with Lexington.

5 Comments

Filed under Auburn's Cast of Thousands

5 responses to “On the other hand, he doesn’t lack for confidence.

  1. watcher16

    I saw this quote yesterday and thought the same thing. I would love to hold them to negative rushing yards and 0 points today while evening the all-time series (which nobody seems to be focusing on–I’ve been waiting on this for a long time!)

    • Macallanlover

      Boy I have had that on my radar for some time watcher, hate that we trail Auburn and TN, the only every-season rivals we don’t lead. I want this evened up tonight and I want to close that gap against TN in Neyland next fall. We gave away a couple of wins to TN in the 00s, and the Goff/Donnan era got us behind both them and The Barn. We are getting the rival games back in our corner, where they belong.

  2. ScoutDawg

    Yep, unfortunately for him however this defense might have the same personnel as the one in Lex, it is a totally different D.

  3. SouthGa Dawg

    If our D front 7 can blow up some plays early, Auburn will be done. If we let them hang around, they have the top to bottom talent to keep it close. If we stick ‘em early, they will quit.

  4. Cojones

    Their QB, the rush!; -Oh no! The humanity of it all!