The GTP holiday gift guide

I thought I’d try something new – put together a list of things that might appeal to the guy or gal Dawg fan you know (or you are) for Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa or whatever floats your boat this time of year.

Here goes nothing, in no particular order of significance:

  • Pyle PWMA860i Wireless and Portable PA Speaker Sound System.  If you’re like me, music is a big deal at any tailgate.  (One reason I no longer tailgate on North Campus.)  I had a small block rocker that served me well for years, but, sadly, met its demise at this year’s Cocktail Party.  Finding a replacement wasn’t easy, because there are very few powered speakers out there anymore that take iPod Classics as their music source (for one thing, Apple discontinued that product this year and, for another, going Bluetooth with your phone seems to be what all the cool kids do these days).  But I did find this.  It’s a little on the heavy side and a bit kludgy to operate, but the sound and the power are both good and the battery holds up fine.
  • Nike Lunar TR1.  I’ve linked to this product before.  Tell me you don’t know at least one Dawg fan who wouldn’t like to be sporting these babies.
  • Allagash White.  One lesson I’ve learned as I’ve gotten older – life is too short for mediocre beer.  Allagash White is a Belgian Style wit beer and it’s delicious, especially when it’s warm outside.  Go ahead, class up somebody’s tailgate.
  • Angel’s Envy Bourbon.  And when it’s cooler?  This is a great bourbon to drink neat, in the comfort of your home, at your tailgate… or for medicinal purposes, if you’re worried about how to deal with those chilly night games.
  • Pennington & Bailes “Standing Bulldog” Long Sleeve Polo.  Word has it I’m in line to get one of these for the holidays.  Looking forward to it.
  • Pennington & Bailes Georgia Polo DressNo doubt this will look killer with a pair of boots.
  • “Dooley’s Junkyard Dawgs” The best 99 cents you could spend on iTunes.
  • Onward Reserve Georgia/Florida hat.  You may only wear it one weekend a year, but at least you’ll look damned good when you do.
  • 1980 Dawgs Collectors Edition DVD Set.  While we’re waiting for a shot at the next national title game…
  • Towable Tailgates Ultimate Trailer Okay, this one’s borderline facetious.  But if one showed up in your driveway Christmas morning with a bow on it, I doubt you’d object.  (Besides, you need some place to put the beer and bourbon you got, right?)
  • Victory on Plains – Framed.  I have one of these on the wall in my office.  You should, too.
  • Barrons-Hunter Red & Black.  You like Georgia’s color scheme.  A lot.  But maybe you’d like a red and black accessory or two without a logo on it?  Well, here you go.
  • Behind the Hedges.  Give this to somebody who is puzzled by my qualms about how Butts-Mehre operates.
  • History and Reminiscences of the University of Georgia.  Vince Dooley’s book would help with that, too.  (Maybe not in the way Dooley intended, though.)

Whew.  That should get you started.  Let me know what you think.

By the way, I’d like for this to be a collaborative effort, so please add any suggestions you’re sure would be welcomed in the comments.  (Don’t forget to provide links.)

38 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

38 responses to “The GTP holiday gift guide

  1. Eagle Rare would be a nice gift as far as bourbon goes.

    I think a lot of this crowd would like any season of Justified on DVD, particularly seasons 3 and 4.

    Like

  2. Joe Bastow

    Virus in your Nike link.

    Like

  3. What fresh hell is this?

    What? … no Festivus for the rest of us?

    Like

  4. Silver Britches

    I knew I liked you, Senator. Allagash White is one of the top 2-3 beers I’ve ever had. Unfortunately, it’s not available here in Alabama. I buy as much as I can every time I’m in God’s country.

    Like

  5. I hardly ever post but you are spot on about the Allagash White, here are my thoughts on it from a few years ago. http://fourboysbrewpub.blogspot.com/2010/03/allagash-white.html

    Like

  6. AusDawg85

    Ultimate Tailgate…could be the just the thing to convince me to drive the 1000 miles from Austin to Athens for home games. Hell…maybe I’ll just set the thing up in my front yard!

    Local Austinites will ask…can you tow that with a Prius?

    Like

  7. You do take your tailgate music seriously! My sons and I have managed to hold on to our summer project tradition. This years project is to orchestrate the return of a pair of Altec Lansing speakers. My nephew borrowed them from his Grandpa some time ago and they have occupied his attic since his marriage. Does not fit her decor I suppose. We are going to rehab them and upfit them to Bluetooth! I found a pic of Altecs online. They can get loud. And the boys plan on using them for the Alabama tailgate.
    http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-add-bluetooth-streaming-to-any-speaker/

    Like

    • Altecs are very efficient. You don’t need a whole lot of power to make them go and go loudly, that’s for sure.

      Like

      • Debby Balcer

        We have altec lansings my husband bought when we were newlyweds in 1979 they still have great sound.

        Like

        • Late seventies, I think I was still into my Large Advents. Very different kind of sound, but equally popular.

          Like

        • We bought Advents the floor model with walnut cabinets. We were married in 1976. They were sweet. Really nice sound. My oldest son rehabbed them and they are now at his place. They are quite the hit with his crowd. They only know the small surround sound speakers. Nice sound but… not the same. 😉 My youngest son has all my vinyl. I don’t mind. I’m glad they love music.
          All this talk about speakers reminds me of what my father listened too. With those altec you felt like you were right there. He liked it loud.

          Like

    • Which of those have you sampled?

      Like

      • Charles

        I’ve tried them all. They’re excellent. Life changing, even. The Old Fashioned (No. 1) and Tom Collins (No. 2) mixes are my favorites.

        The best thing about them is that they eliminate the hassle of making round after round of labor intensive drinks for friends at tailgates, dinner parties and so on.

        Like

  8. Big Shock

    Regarding the GA/FL hat, I think that any weekend of the year is appropriate to have a hat with a gator eatting bulldog.

    Looked for a couple of years for a UGA polo with a helmet rather than just the “G” or a bulldog. Found a great one from Peter Millar.

    http://www.petermillar.com/collegiate/ga/university-of-georgia/mc00k01-wht-uga4-university-of-georgia-solid-cotton-lisle-golf-shirt-with-knit-collar

    Like

  9. When I originally showed my 14-year-old daughter the picture of the shoes, she said, “No way, Dad. You’re too old for those.”

    Like

  10. addr

    Oh man, no Athens beer? Do yourself a favor and try any of these for easy tailgate sipping:

    Creature Comforts Tropicalia (ridiculously tasty IPA, not too bitter)
    Creature Comforts Athena (wheat beer great for warm weather)
    Terrapin Rye Pale Ale
    Terrapin Recreation Ale

    Or for those colder games:

    Creature Comforts Koko Buni
    Terrapin MooHoo/Wake-n-Bake

    I think Creature Comforts can be bought in the Atlanta area now, Terrapin is all over the southeast. Either way, definitely worth a 6 pack any time you’re in Athens.

    Like

    • I enjoy Terrapin. Haven’t had CC, but I’ll check it out next time I’m in Athens.

      You know what they say: too many beers, too little time. 😉

      Like

      • addr

        Man, ain’t that the truth. CC is relatively new, but the brewery is right downtown off Hancock in the old Snow Tire Co, so I’d highly suggest you make a stop. $12 gets you a souvenir glass and roughly 3 full pours, which is plenty to try all their beers. Great spot for pre-dinner drinks (their beers are also on tap nearly everywhere downtown).

        Like

    • Jailhouse Brewing out of Hampton GA has some great brews as well, I really like their Breakout Stout, very dark beer @ 8%

      Like

  11. Mayor

    Great gift suggestions, Senator. I particularly like the hats and will be getting all three colors. But most of all, every Dawg needs to read “Behind the Hedges.” Thanks, for plugging it. 🙂

    Like

  12. I’m surprised Scorp hasn’t commented on the hats. After all, it was his choice of hats that screwed the pooch against the Nerds. 😉

    Like

  13. TrboDawg

    I don’t even want to know what this says about our fan base, but I had to share what I found when looking at “Behind the Hedges” on Amazon…

    Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

    Pampers Swaddlers Diapers Size N Giant Pack 128 Count
    1,764
    $34.94 Prime
    New Realities in the Management of Student Affairs: Emerging…
    Ashley Tull
    Paperback
    $33.25 Prime
    

    Like

  14. Athens Townie

    For beer: CREATURE COMFORTS.

    Made in Athens and they’ve really got it going on. They just started putting a couple of their brews in cans, which is better for tailgating (and generally superior to bottles anyway).

    I like Terrapin fine, but CC is my favorite Georgia brewery these days.

    Like

  15. OdontoDawg

    Thanks, Bluto. Hope this post becomes a tradition here.

    Like