A random satellite camp suggestion

Kirby, it’s always been a dream of mine to see a player from here dressed in red and black.  I mean, check out these odds:

According to Scott Pelley’s 60 Minutes report on football in Samoa, a boy born to Samoan parents is 56 times more likely to make it in the NFL than any other kid in America. A lot of that has to do with pure instincts they develop from living in such a rural environment, but even more has to do with fact that with the fact that these islanders are born massive.  [Emphasis added.]

Massive?  I think I just heard Sam Pittman’s schwing!

16 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

16 responses to “A random satellite camp suggestion

  1. Jt (the other one)

    Two things; some time ago (read: mid 80’s) we had a machine gunner who is Samoan. He wore xxl camouflaged uniform and the sleeves still didn’t reach all the way to his wrists. BIG DUDE. Nice guy but don’t make him angry. He got out of the Marine Corps and planned to go back to Samoa and farm and never run again as the Corps required him to do so.
    During my last tour in Iraq Tonga an island in the same group as Samoa and same ethnic people as Samoa sent about 125 of their Marines. They served as guards to the puzzle palace. Their small Marines were at least 6’2″ and around 225. The bigger yes bigger ones made fun of them. BIG DUDES. Nice until you crossed them -which I never did.

  2. mwo

    How much would the bowl trip check be for one of those kids if UGA had one and played in the Orange Bowl? IIRC, the kids get a check based on miles from their home to the site of the bowl. That would be a nice chunk of change.

  3. 3rdandGrantham

    One of the absolute scariest moments of my life involved a time in college when a Samoan UGA student wanted to knock my head off. I was playing intramural flag football and accidentally ran into/tackled a member of the other team, who just happened to be a very large guy of Samoan descent. To this day I have no clue how it happened — I just remember running over the middle of the field trying to cover a WR when I suddenly found myself on top of this really big dude.

    Since this was flag football, tackling wasn’t allowed, but to be honest I think he would have been royally pissed at me regardless, as he was playing an OL at the time. Now, I was a pretty big guy myself as I was a gym rat back in those days, but his anger alone was enough for self-preservation to immediately kick in — his sheer size only compounded matters a bit at that point. Anyway, he got up and let out this scream that only Pixar could recreate and immediately lunged at me. After a few minutes they calmed him down enough for the game to continue, but suffice to say I didn’t get within 20 feet of him the rest of the game.

    Afterwards, I tried to apologize to him while explaining how it was all a freak accident, and one of his teammates looked at me like I was nuts and suggested I get out of there asap. Nobody has ever been as angry at me before or since (well, perhaps Derek being the exception); but I ran into him a few days later, apologized again while explaining what happened, and after mulling things over for the longest 15 seconds of my life, he smiled and basically said no problem…its all good.

    Unfortunately, the same couldn’t be said for my underwear.

    • Big Kamehameha

      YOU! I’m still trying to find you you little fucker!

      • 3rdandGrantham

        Just this alone and the mere .00001% possibility you actually are that guy is the reason why I’m immediately changing my handle, and thus I’ll no longer posting under 3rdandGrantham from this point forward.

        Is 3rdandSchotty available?

  4. Dylan Dreyer's Booty

    As long as Munson was doing our games, I always wanted us to have a Samoan just to hear him try and pronounce his name. I guess it’d still fun to listen to Uncle Verne try.

  5. Normaltown Mike

    Jimmy the Greek approves of that analysis.

  6. Cojones

    What happened to Brown from Hinesville? It was a few years back and he was all lined up, but immigration status suddenly came up. Never saw where he ended up, but it was a missed opportunity for us to have our first Samoan. Can we run a handful of Hope Scholarships to Samoa on our next trip? They would make one helluva class of walk-ons.

  7. Debby Balcer

    There are lots of Samoans in Hawaii. My husband is not big but his features looked Samoan and while we were stationed there locals kept asking us if he was Samoan. He would have been the runt of the litter. Samoans are family oriented and he always said when we were out on the beaches no one bothered our stuff because they were expecting his big brothers to show up.

  8. Nashville West

    Growing up on the left coast I played ball with and against Samoans in HS and at a D-3 school. Some of the nicest guys off the field but they would knock the heck out of you on the field. Would love to see a few Samoans play for the Dawgs.

  9. Bulldog Joe

    Since Samoans in the NFL overwhelmingly play on defense, it looks like a great ‘vacation’ destination for Coach Rocker.

  10. Walt

    I worked in Hawaii on a few projects back in the 1980s and 90s and got to know some locals. I was told that if a Samoan was a really bad dude, he got shipped to Western Samoa. If he was too incorrigible for Western Samoa, they shipped him to Hawaii. So, according to my acquaintances, Hawaii had more than its fair share of rough and tumble Samoans. One guy showed me an ad in the yellow pages under collection agencies. It said Samoan Collection Agency – We don’t make phone calls.

  11. RugbyDawg79

    They are also great Rugby players – as you will see in the upcoming Olympics

  12. BMan

    If UGA targets Samoan players, Marcus Howard suggests making sure they are quick in addition to being big. Colt Brennan would probably concur, but I think he just got sacked again.

  13. Dog in Fla

    @Jt (the other one)
    May 3, 2016 at 8:17 AM
    “Tonga an island”

    golden shellback
    Blue Laws
    International Date Line Hotel Bar
    Letters of Reprimand
    Good times in Nukuʻalofa

  14. Pingback: Damn it, Kirby. | Get The Picture