Inches away, indeed.

This one has some real potential to be painful to watch…

(h/t)

20 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football

20 responses to “Inches away, indeed.

  1. Derek

    Why not include mudcat, Brandon Miller, Ray Drew, Richard Samuel, caleb king and Crowell? Is it me or do we have an unmatched history of disappointing former five star recruits? I think we may have more disappointments than successes and I’m not sure that’s statistically possible.

  2. TomReagan

    One issue with that play that is rarely discussed is the whistle. They were blowing the whistle when Sanks was on the ground and before/while the defender was squatting and ripping at the ball. The defender was never down, and he tried to run it out of the end zone, but the play was ruled dead because it obviously wasn’t a fumble. Except for one ref, of course.
    If it was a fumble, it should have never been blown dead.

    • Granite-Dawg

      I will go to hell for my actions after that call on that day!

    • Granthams replacement

      And the tech guy with the ball took the ball backwards into the end zone and was tackled. So the refs screwed it up in three ways.

      • Sanford222view

        +100

      • Go Dawgs!

        Yup. If it’s a fumble, fine. It’s a fumble. IT’S ALSO A SAFETY AND THE DAWGS STILL WIN AND I DON’T HAVE TO RIDE F’N MARTA AWAY FROM THE MAW OF HELL WITH THREE HUNDRED CROWING NERDS.

  3. 69Dawg

    Well at least Ford’s crew was suspended and could not work a bowl game that year. This of course totally destroyed any good will with the officials from that day forward. The singular worst call in all my years of football.

    • I still wouldn’t p!$$ on Al Ford if he was on fire. Never trusted SEC officiating since that day at the Joke.

    • Russ

      Yep, just a terrible call that ranks as one of the worst I’ve seen. They blew it at least two ways. First, Sanks was down before the ball ever came out. Second, IF it was a fumble, the guy recovering ran into the endzone on his own accord and was tackled there, which still would’ve given us points and the ball.

    • Derek

      I’ve seen worse. Dial this up at 2:02:30: https://youtu.be/29fk3hhF06U

      How is that not an interception? The replay booth and the tv announcers and the on field officials are all absolutely brain dead on this one.

      I’ve seen a worse one than that as well, but I haven’t found it yet.

  4. Jared S.

    Sigh. At least it seems he’s doing well now.

  5. AO

    Damn, Senator….just damn.

  6. The Dawg abides

    Coming soon to a gas station near you. Look for the white Caprice Classic with the trunk open.

  7. citizencrane

    a bag of nopes

  8. Hobnail_Boot

    No thank you.

  9. @gatriguy

    A tell-all of the 2000 season would be interesting. Especially whether some of the tumors I’ve heard about the Thursday prior to the SCU abortion are true or not.

    • Normaltown Mike

      i never heard this rumor, do tell.

      I will say that USC was a well-coached team that forced a more talented team to play down. And Quincy Carter can’t read a D for shit.

  10. Macallanlover

    That game, and the AJ Green/LSU theft, will always be Ws to me. They were stolen deliberately, and erroneously by the officials.

  11. Gurkha Dawg

    Damn, I wish I hadn’t come to GTP today and seen this. Now I’m pissed off all over again.