Things I never thought I’d post.

Touché, Stephen Garcia.

12 Comments

Filed under The Evil Genius

12 responses to “Things I never thought I’d post.

  1. Russ

    Damn. I guess Steve is getting a little forgetful in his senior years. I remember reading the papers when I lived in Florida. Anytime Florida lost, Spurrier was quick to say it was a lack of execution, which of course is just blaming the players.

    I like hearing him riff on football, but he’s amazingly un-self aware.

  2. Puffdawg

    What’s even funnier is how many chances Spurrier gave Garcia, and Garcia still can’t resist. He basically gave Garcia an endless get out of jail free card because Spurrier does what is best for Spurrier (which is what makes Spurrier’s comments on UGA always having suspended players rich btw – easy to beat your chest when you don’t actually suspend players). Who is the bigger ass in this situation? I can’t figure out. Is this like dividing by zero?

    • Macallanlover

      More interesting to me, Spurrier actually did have standards when he was well stocked with talent at FU but he did a 180 at SC. I lost respect for him during the stay in Columbia, and feel it led to his failure there. I believe he would have been successful there had he not sold out to get the short term gain. In addition to Garcia, he let both Larrimore and Clowny run all over him, don’t think the players didn’t notice how the stars were treated versus others.

  3. JTP

    Spurrier was a hell of a coach, no doubt, but he is a capital-A Asshole.

  4. Uglydawg

    A very good former HS coach (Carrollton, Ga.) once made the statement, “Back when we were winning all the time, I couldn’t convince people that it was becasue of the kids..not the coach. Now that we’re losing, I still can’t convince them”. Don’t know if that fits the subject here but I always thought it was funny.
    Hypocritical or not, Spurrier’s advice is good and I hope Fish Fry takes it.

  5. Derek

    I’d like to hear terry dean’s retort.

  6. JasonC

    What’s Spurrier’s policy on criticizing members of the media?