Uncle Verne’s Farewell Tour starts now.

Just because we knew this was coming doesn’t make it any less sad.

Verne Lundquist, the voice of the SEC ON CBS since 2000, has decided to step down from his lead college football role at CBS Sports following the 2016 season. Lundquist, who is celebrating his 53rd year in television, will continue calling regular-season college basketball, the NCAA Tournament and golf, including the Masters® and the PGA Championship for the Network.

Brad Nessler will succeed Lundquist as the lead play-by-play announcer for the SEC ON CBS, joining lead analyst Gary Danielson and reporter Allie LaForce beginning with the 2017 season. Additionally, Nessler will begin calling select SEC games this season in the weeks that CBS Sports broadcasts two SEC football games, as well as the 2016 Hyundai Sun Bowl and select college basketball games…

No complaints about Brad Nessler as his successor, but, damn, just like when Jackson and Munson left the stage, Saturday’s won’t be the same.

12 Comments

Filed under SEC Football

12 responses to “Uncle Verne’s Farewell Tour starts now.

  1. Athens Dog

    End of an era. He loves Athens.

    Like

  2. glenn c

    he was the closest thing we had to Jacksons “WHOA NELLY”

    Like

  3. Ben

    Y’all, we just need to take a moment and realize how lucky we are that we’ll get Brad Nessler and Uncle Verne on the same day. Gone, for at least one year, are the days of Steve Beuerlein and Craig Bolerjack for the first part of a double-header.

    Nessler and Lundquist really will be just an embarrassment of riches.

    Like

    • Russ

      +100

      I love Uncle Verne, but Nessler is the best in the business. And I like Danielson, too. Blackledge is also good, but I still have that broken heart from the 83 Sugar Bowl.

      Like

  4. Vectordawg

    I won’t miss him.

    Like

  5. Nessler is the best right now.

    Like

  6. Jared S.

    I’ll miss Verne. His increasing tendency to bumble and fumble names/places/things during games has never bothered me, in fact his bumbling has only endeared him further to me (and my brother and father who share my feelings on this). It’s not a crisp, clean, cogent delivery that has mad us love Verne so much – it’s his evident child-like love of the game, and his genuine interest in the people involved in it. For me the moment that I will always remember Verne for is his reaction to Bama’s Kick Six. Ha. Priceless.

    It’s obvious that he loves his job and he doesn’t take his success for granted. And that he’s a man of character by all accounts. Seemingly, if he doesn’t have something nice to say, he doesn’t say anything at all.

    I am beyond puzzled as to why/how I’ve seen so many people on the internet accuse him of being egotistical since his retirement was officially announced. Are they talking about the same Verne?

    Like

    • It’s obvious that he loves his job and he doesn’t take his success for granted. And that he’s a man of character by all accounts. Seemingly, if he doesn’t have something nice to say, he doesn’t say anything at all.

      I’ve found him endearing because he truly does enjoy his job and I think he realizes that the stage on Saturdays in the South is a pretty grand experience for him to participate. That – and the fact that he’ll straight up steal your woman.

      Like

    • Macallanlover

      I am not surprised how many dis him, or any other legend/tradition, but I think the over whelming majority love him and all the good things he has given us. Piss on ’em! The man is good at his chosen profession, and he is a good man who is passionate about the sport we love (and I will throw his contributions from The Masters in there as well.) I will certainly miss him but will enjoy his calls on replays for many years.

      Like

  7. I don’t mind ol Verne but I can’t stand Danielson. I’d love to have a Blackledge/Nessler crew.

    Like

  8. Uncle Verne … I love the guy.
    Brad Nessler … Best play by play guy in the business regardless of level

    We SEC fans should consider ourselves fortunate.

    Like