More mid-June madness

Like I said, it’s that time of year when most everyone writing about college football has little else to do but speculate.  Which brings me to Pete Fiutak’s (Way Too Early) week one predictions.  His call for Georgia is either stunning or demented, depending on your point of view.

Georgia vs. North Carolina

4:30 PM ESPN Georgia Dome, Atlanta, GA

When last we saw North Carolina, it was getting steamrolled over by Baylor’s running game in an epic collapse. That was last season. This season, it’ll start out by getting stuffed cold by a frenetic Georgia defense that’ll do everything right in Kirby Smart’s debut. The spotlight will be on freshman quarterback Jacob Eason, but it’ll be the Dawg running game that carries the load on the way to an ugly blowout.

Line: Georgia -3.5
June Prediction: Georgia 40, North Carolina 13

I think it’s safe to say that were that to happen, Dawgnation would go nuts.  Pure, unadulterated nuts.  It would be a result reminiscent of this unexpected outcome, a year ahead of schedule.

Sure, it would be as much fun blogging about the over the top reactions to a 27-point blowout as it would the win itself, but I’m not betting the ranch on it.  I wouldn’t even bet the dilapidated outhouse on it.  If Georgia manages to cover, I’ll be thrilled.  Hell, who am I kidding here?  If Georgia wins by a point on a contested play, I’ll take it.  But thanks for the thrill, Pete.

33 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, Media Punditry/Foibles

33 responses to “More mid-June madness

  1. Argondawg

    That right there is the football version of penthouse letters. Erotica.

    • Walt

      So is Georgia the average, everyday college student with the enormous dong, and North Carolina is the beautiful, buxom, nubile, oversexed, coed?

  2. 3rdandGrantham

    Not sure where Pete is from or if he has any connection to UGA, but after reading his columns for the past 10+ years, I’m fairly sure he’s a UGA fan of some degree. He’s always gone out of his way to praise us — has opined that, if he were a coach and could choose any program to run, UGA would be his top choice, how great Athens is, etc.

    With said, put me firmly in the camp of doubting us getting a 27 point win. Frankly, if we win 7-6 or 43-42, I’ll be over the moon.

    • Mary Kate Danaher

      I believe that Pete is a Gator, although he has historically been very optimistic about the Dawgs.

  3. Russ

    “Alabama’s 4 million dollar coach”

    How quaint. I remember those days.

  4. Prosticutor

    40? That’s a lot of pick 6’s.

    • Jared S.

      …or….
      1 Punt Return TD
      1 Eason TD Pass to Blazevich
      4 FG
      1 Michel 40-yard TD Run
      1 Eason TD Pass to Godwin

      • Prosticutor

        Or a lot of McKenzie, b/c I just don’t see 18 year old Eason getting that kind of opportunities in the first game this year. I mean, I want him to, but I’m more of the Munson type rather than Kool aid slurper

  5. I am having my HR and BP going way up anticipating the start of the season tomorrow, LOL. Goooooooo Dawgs, woof, woof.

  6. Ahhhh nothing like a refreshing glass of kool aide on a warm June day

  7. Nate Dawg

    Wait, the Senator has a dilapidated outhouse? Somebody’s spending too much time blogging I suppose…and didn’t you go on vacation not long ago? Shame…

  8. Jared S.

    I think it’s because I’ve been so conditioned, but why do I feel like if we do beat UNC by 27 points it means we will lose to Ole Miss by 27?

    • Bulldog Joe

      https://blutarsky.wordpress.com/2015/09/20/you-live-for-days-like-that/

      https://blutarsky.wordpress.com/2015/10/04/showing-up-not-showing-up/

      It’s because of this and this, and many more examples before it.

      But let’s not get ahead of ourselves. This is a program starting over.

      • Ricky McDurden

        Personally, I’m not concerned to find out if Kirby can win a big game or not. My concern is more can he keep the team motivated for a full season (something Richt and Co could never seem to do). Blowing out UNC would be a welcome start but the big answer to my question would be whether we dispatch a beatable Mizzou team at night on the road a couple of weeks later, steal one on the road from a good Ole Miss squad, and then manage to keep our heads for a heavyweight bout with Tennessee at home. Good news is we’re going to get some definitive answers in the first month or so. The bad news is there is no adjustment period. Just rip the bandaid off and see how much we bleed.

        • Bulldog Joe

          Agree. Non-conference game with a good upside reward but doesn’t damage us in the conference race.

          It is a good opportunity to motivate and work out issues with the new team and staff in stressful situations.

  9. W Cobb Dawg

    So that would mean Eason throws 5 TDs to Bauta & Ridley, along with a 62 yard Wasson FG, and a safety by Hardman. Who needs returning lettermen when you have such awesome freshmen!

  10. Macallanlover

    One point I haven’t given enough credit to is the enthusiasm UGA players will likely play with in the opening game of Smart’s career. When coupled with the excitement of a decent opponent at a unique location, I can see UGA playing lights out against UNC in the Dome. Players seem to get dialed in and focused through out off-season workouts and summer camps when they really anticipate an early challenge.

    My biggest concern about the UNC game is our DL’s ability to stop a good running attack. That weakness carries far beyond the opener, and is ahead of the questions about the QB position, and Chubb’s health. At least in the opening game our depth at DL may be less of an issue. Should we be able to snuff their running back, a comfortable win could be possible although I don’t see 40 points.

    • Otto

      I am more concerned about experience in the scheme adjusting to UNC’s hurry up, especially as Smart’s weakness has been the hurry up. Chubb pounding the rock could slow the game greatly helping the D. UGA needs to limit possessions, rest the D, and give the coaches a chance to coach the kids between UNC possessions.

      • Chopdawg

        Right. I think we’ll be able to run the ball on them, with Chubb or Michel. How we play on the DL will be key.

  11. SouthernYank

    I see UGA winning by 10-17 points.

  12. Bright Idea

    When I think of opening in the Dome against a real team I think of Power Rangers getting trampled by Broncos. I’ll have to see us beat UNC by any means possible to get over that picture.

  13. I’ll take a win regardless of style points right now.

  14. Sh3rl0ck

    CFN was great years ago. Then they were bought out by Scout and turned into AJC level click-bait garbage. I see that they appear to be unaffiliated with any outside group now. Can anyone confirm save me a couple of hours and tell me if they are back to being a quality source of opinion? Thanks.

  15. stoopnagle

    First, I would orgasm. Then, I would go ahead and reserve my rooms in Tampa.

  16. 69Dawg

    As Munson would say “we just don’t have enough big bodies to do this”. We spent the last two seasons getting our DL and OL lean and somewhat mean. Now the new coach wants them big and mean. We are not Alabama and the true test of Kirby is can he coach not an Alabama. When you’ve spent 9 years driving a Battle tank getting used to a Humvee can take some adjustment. I’m not saying he can’t but I’m saying he’ll have to for us to succeed until he can recruit his reinforcements.

  17. Uglydawg

    The North Carolina coaching staff is chuckling as they pin a copy of Pete’s prediction on the front of each of their players’ locker.

  18. ScoutDawg

    3-2 is my outcome.

  19. lakedawg

    Score looks about right , will basically be a home game since NC returned a bunch of tickets. Think we put 350 yards rushing against them and they have a rookie QB playing first game in hostile environment.