Eternal attorney’s fees are the price of amateurism.

I love the juxtaposition of these two paragraphs:

When asked if he feels guilty about his salary given the financial restraints the NCAA places on players, Bowlsby replied, “I think I’m overpaid and I think there are others in college athletics that are overpaid. But that’s what the market dictates so I’m not going to attempt to turn the market in the other direction.”

… The Big 12 spent $1.4 million on legal services with Polsinelli Shugart in Kansas City, up from about $400,000 a year earlier. Big 12 spokesman Bob Burda said the increase was due to legal defense for NCAA lawsuits in which the Big 12 is a defendant. There have been multiple lawsuits in which current and former players have sought compensation beyond the value of a scholarship.

You know what they say — you gotta spend money to make money.

1 Comment

Filed under See You In Court, The NCAA

One response to “Eternal attorney’s fees are the price of amateurism.

  1. Cousin Eddie

    I would have that bronzed and offered to him the next time he is due a raise.

    Like