You need more proof coaches can’t stand losing control?

Gary Patterson, who I consider one of the better balanced people in the coaching profession, spent time in his post-game presser after TCU’s loss to Oklahoma bitching about Baker Mayfield.  Not about his play during the game, mind you, but about how Mayfield and his family hurt Patterson’s fee-fees when they had the audacity to complain to the press about TCU blocking his transfer out to another Big 12 program.

‘I got a quarterback who writes a whole article on me, how I treated him wrong, but I can’t talk about officials,” Patterson said after the game Saturday night.

I swear, if coaches were given the choice of paying players as long as they got even more control over their lives, they’d take that deal in a heartbeat.


Filed under College Football

8 responses to “You need more proof coaches can’t stand losing control?

  1. 69Dawg

    Free agency, it’s not just for the Pro’s anymore. At least the plantation has a small gate now.

  2. Scorpio Jones, III

    Patterson’s rant is the popular style. Blame the victim is the order of the day. At least he did not make fun of Mayfield’s marriage.

  3. TN Dawg

    I did not view the comment in that way.

    I’m sure Patterson was asked about facing Mayfield about 26 times this week, so it was on his mind. But the comment, to me, did not read “Mayfield should not be able to criticize me”, but rather “Why will I get fined for criticizing referees when the rest of the world can criticize me all they like?”

    I tend to agree with his point. When the refs f*ck you, you ought to be able to say so without forking over $10,000.

  4. Uhh…Baker Mayfield never played for, signed with or was controlled by Gary Patterson or TCU.

    TCU declined to offer Mayfield and Mayfield didn’t like how they handled it.

    Mayfield also didn’t like how Texas Tech handled him.

    Then he enrolled at OU without Bob Stoops knowledge.

    This kid had no offers out of high school. None. He’s obviously a great player so I wonder what gives?

    I have no idea, but the trail behind him seems to give off some good clues.

    The plantation meme is good one, but it’s not applicable in every case.

    • Sh3rl0ck

      I came here to say the exact same thing. Before the CFP Semifinal game against Clemson, Mayfield said that out of the 128 FBS schools that didn’t offer him, he was most disappointed with TCU not offering a scholarship. He then proceeded to bitch about Patterson. Apparently, the kid’s dad is substantially similar to Craig James in attitude.

      Patterson’s point here is that anyone and everyone can call out the coaches, but he is not allowed to talk about crap officiating.

  5. Mark

    Given the standard coaches are held to these days, I certainly understand their desire to control everything they can. That said, the kids still should have the chance to enjoy a lot more freedom than they do. The transfer rules need to be corrected as soon as possible. IMO, a kid shouldn’t have to sit out just because he wants to change schools.

  6. Dolly Llama

    CGP’s punching down a weight class or two, isn’t he? Never a good look for a grown man.

  7. ASEF

    He got a 2-fer-1. Got in shots at both Mayfield and the refs.

    But I’m betting that win felt really good for Mayfield.