When the Pirate chooses a captain

Really, this is awesome.

“I thought, ‘What is this captain stuff?’ Everybody around here can be their own captain. I’ve got assistant coaches to be their captain. The coach tells them what to do anyway,” Leach said.

“My experience with team captains, as far as really taking the team on their shoulders, hasn’t been incredibly great. It’s typically good kids where nothing happens. They’re out there just trying to do their job and play the best they can, but the notion of a bunch of captains inspiring everybody is difficult to do and unrealistic. It doesn’t really happen very often.”

“So then I thought, all the guy really does is the coin toss. And then I decided one of the most screwed up things about this country is in order to do anything, to cross the street, we have a committee. So I figured screw the committee, we really only need one guy. And he’s gotta be smart enough to either call ‘heads’ or ‘tails.’ That’s it,” Leach said.

“So then I thought, ‘Should I get the biggest guy on the team or the littlest guy on the team?’ And then I thought, ‘Jamal Morrow was on The Price Is Right and was fairly lucky and went to the final round and almost won the sucker.’ He was closest to the price but he was over by like three dollars. The other person’s under by like 60 dollars, but since he’s over he loses. So I figured Jamal Morrow’s a lucky guy, plus he’s got pretty good energy to him, so why not Jamal Morrow?

“And then Jamal Morrow goes out and did have an amazing knack for winning the (coin) toss. He wins it almost all the time. I’m serious about this. I don’t know what his record is, but it’s something incredible. But I don’t even really care about that because one way or the other you get the ball one half or the other, except one time when I played Nebraska. Morrow had a funny tendency to win, and then I’m thinking, ‘I don’t want to sit here of and think out a new guy to do it.’ So Jamal Morrow has gone out there for the coin toss for about two-and-a-half years and quite honestly done a tremendous job in my opinion. And then we got on a roll and I liked it even better.”

The Nebraska reference is to a game when Leach decided to kick off to start both halves.  ‘Cause that’s how a pirate rolls sometimes.

20 Comments

Filed under Mike Leach. Yar!

20 responses to “When the Pirate chooses a captain

  1. Mike Leach is a great quote and an interesting offensive mind. As a head coach, he has never really impressed me that much.

    Like

    • W Cobb Dawg

      In Leach’s defense I’d argue he’s always been with schools that have long histories of mediocrity. But he does seem to get above average production from his players. And I’m not saying this because he threatened to have me locked in a utility room;-)

      Like

      • His defenses have been downright awful if I remember correctly. Similar to Hal Mumme, the Pirate generally doesn’t seem interested in stopping people.

        Like

        • Mayor

          I have watched his team play several games this season (replay) and IMHO the real reason for WSU’s success this season is an improvement in defense. They actually had a goal line stand a few games back.

          Like

    • SAtowndawg

      since calling his players out as having the mentality of JUCO softball players, they’ve been undefeated with wins against UCLA, Oregon and ASU…not bad for Washington State

      Like

    • Biggus Rickus

      He had Texas Tech close to a national title run and consistently won 8 or 9 games there. That’s not the easiest thing to do. He also has Wahsington State playing at about the same level now, which is also not an easy thing. I don’t think I’d trust him with a potentially elite program, but if you’re a program with built-in limitations, you could do a lot worse.

      Like

      • Good point. As I replied to W Cobb, I just don’t think he put any emphasis on his defense. Eventually, that gets you beaten because your unstoppable offense is going to have a bad day or you run up against a defense with better athletes.

        Like

      • Mayor

        BR, I disagree. If a top-flight program gave Leach the keys you would be shocked at the results. The guy is an Xs and Os genius. He is doing what he’s doing at Wassu and what he did at TT with players nobody else wanted. Give him an elite roster and he would challenge for the national championship every year. His problem is he is a bit of a nut so nobody at an elite program (or even just a very good program) is willing to trust him.

        Like

  2. Russ

    We need more of the Pirate. He’s a funny dude.

    Like

    • LamontSanford

      Agreed–especially now that the LSU brass has cheated us out of the master, Les Miles.

      Like

      • Sh3rl0ck

        When they all are finished coaching, I want to watch games where Mike Leach, Les Miles, and SOS do the commentary. Uncensored and free form.

        Like

        • paul

          Now there’s three guys I’d love to knock back a few beers with. I imagine the Ol Ball Caoch and the Pirate pretty much dominating the conversation with Les occasionally interjecting non sequiturs that make everyone stop for a moment, think, WTF and then laugh their asses off. Good times.

          Like

  3. F Craig James and his spoiled rotten kid.

    Like

  4. Mad Mike

    Leach’s resume according to CC Rider

    Like

  5. Cousin Eddie

    When he decides to retire I hope ESPN hires him. He would be a funny TV personality. I could hear him questioning play calls and offering stupid comments from experiences he has had. Him and the ol’ball sac working together would be the funniest sports show on TV, until they started throwing Coors light cans or drew swords.

    Like

  6. 69Dawg

    Couple of years back I saw Leach coming out of B.O.’s Fish Shack in Key West. Anyway I spoke to him and he stopped and we talked. I told him I was a UGA fan and he said he always thought very highly of Erk Russell and both UGA and GSU. He seemed to be the guy you would like to have a beer with.

    Like