When they assure you it’s all about the student-athlete…

they lyin’.

(h/t)

9 Comments

Filed under Big Ten Football, It's Just Bidness

9 responses to “When they assure you it’s all about the student-athlete…

  1. Chi-town Dawg

    When they assure us it’s all about the fan experience, they also be lying!

    Like

  2. Puffdawg

    Couple comments:

    (1) They are probably getting their ass whipped on Thursday now that the NFL is there competing.
    (2) This will go down much like the News Years Eve debacle. College people are out and partying Friday night. Boosters are going to HS football games. I do not believe Friday night games will stick.

    Like

  3. Hogbody Spradlin

    And he is dressed poorly. Navy striped suit and navy dot tie. No.

    Like

  4. Macallanlover

    I like the increased games available on Friday, I am a CFB fan so the more opportunities to watch the better for me. I don’t go to HS games, and this doesn’t prevent anyone else from doing so either. The sheer volume of games on Saturday is too much to spread out, and it still will be, but every little bit helps.

    Like

    • Puffdawg

      Mac, my point about high school aside, more broadly I just meant that people are already out doing things on Friday night – Cojones buying weed, Senator cruising around in his sports vehicle, Scorp preparing his voodoo doll – whatever it is. Watching football on TV is not ingrained in people on Friday like it is on Saturday and Sunday, and people are not just sitting at home like, say a Tuesday or Thursday night. I’m not really opposed to it either, but I don’t think it will catch on.

      Like

      • Macallanlover

        I agree it isn’t for everyone, and it won’t have the audiences of a Saturday night, but there is a lot of inventory so increasing the number of chances to catch a good game is a good thing for me. I won’t watch all of them, just like I don’t watch all the Thursday night offerings. There was a time when Monday night didn’t have football either, but the NFL changed the paradigm. I don’t usually see much Big? so if they put some good match ups on, it will give me a chance to see teams, and games, that don’t make it to the top of my playlist on Saturdays.

        I am a guy who wishes mid-majors and/or FCS would play in the Spring and have their own playoffs. That is a time when their aren’t many sports I watch and they would have a better financial model for them. Not for everyone I realize, but that is my opinion. We will see.

        Like

    • PTC DAWG

      Every Big 11 game I miss is a good thing.

      Like

  5. OrlandoDawg

    Dear Cellar Dweller B1G team,
    We agreed to Friday games in order for you to have some small way to contribute to the cash flow we’re all rolling in. Let’s face it, no one watches you on Saturday. Now they can not watch you on Friday, but we get paid. Congrats, and thanks in advance for your willingness to contribute to the cash cow.

    Sincerely,

    The Commish

    Like

  6. PTC DAWG

    I. Hate. This.

    Like