I’ll take “Stats I didn’t expect to see a month ago” for $200, Alex.

Take a bow, Kevin Butler.

15 Comments

Filed under Georgia Football, Stats Geek!

15 responses to “I’ll take “Stats I didn’t expect to see a month ago” for $200, Alex.

  1. Russ

    In my opinion, Blankenship was never a bad kicker. I think Kirby pushed him aside in haste. To Kirby’s credit, he admitted that may be a possibility in interviews last night.

    Butler has obviously helped, though. Glad they finally figured out a way to get him on board. Going forward, I say ditch Beamed and hire Butler.

    Like

  2. lakedawg

    Kid just needed a little confidence because he did it in HS and last year while he waited on that promised scholly. Maybe staff realizes after this year he is worth one.

    Like

  3. skydawg

    Kurt Rambis

    Like

  4. Billy Mumphrey

    I’m voting Rodrigo on Tuesday!

    Like

  5. Macallanlover

    It was obvious who was the kicker of choice, even on the misses. He could have hit a slump, or lost some confidence, or he could have even been in shock that he was in a competition with someone who could snap hook kicks into the goal line pylon. Glad he has Butler with him and it has helped, but this was a really bad decision that has been corrected. I remember telling someone who did not attend the G Day game that we looked pretty good in most areas but that I felt a frat boy had jumped the fence, stolen a uni, and slipped onto the field to try a FG and almost whiffed. I saw that same kicker attempt another FG earlier this season with the same result, made me speechless. I am sure Hamm tried his best but even the kicks he made were badly struck. Good on Rodrigo for hanging in there. He will miss again at some point but there is no doubt he is the best kicker on the squad, and has been all along. What does Beamer really do at practice?

    Like

  6. Scorpio Jones, III

    Meanwhile, despite a credible game, Austin Long is dead last in the SEC and has punted almost twice as many times as the Awbun guy. (Awbun guy is only three or four notches higher than Long.) I don’t know if Kevin Butler is working with Long, but I hope somebody is.

    Guess who the leading punter in the conference plays for?

    I guess “just sayin” needs to be said.

    Like

  7. Time for a dead cat bounce (aka W Cobb Dawg)

    Funny how the one aspect of the STs that’s improved over time is the one coached by Kevin Butler. Otherwise, STs continued to perform below average.

    Like

  8. Sanford222view

    I think Blankenship’s only miss was his first attempt in Oxford. Hasn’t missed since. Keep it up!

    Like

  9. TMC DAWG

    Butler has really helped Blankinship. Yes He needs to special teams couch if he will have it. He’s been a winner ar every level he has been at!

    Like

  10. Don’t know if it’s just me but it seems Kevin is in Kirby’s ear an awful lot to be just a “grad assistant,” not that it is a bad thing.

    Like