Coaches crossfire

Point:

In addition, Smart reiterated his position against a rule the Division I Council approved that will prevent colleges from hiring anyone closely associated with a prospective student-athlete for a “two-year period before and after the student’s anticipated and actual enrollment at the school.”

Smart said this rule is a hindrance to good high school coaches who are trying to break in at the college level.

“It’s hard in the coaching profession to grow coaches and develop coaches like we do in the SEC without the ability to hire high school coaches,” Smart said. “And they still argue, ‘You can still hire them, you just can’t hire the ones with prospects.’ Well, when you sign 25 (players) a year it’s hard not to hire one who may interact with a prospect. It does limit those guys so that’s a disappointing part of that rule.”

Counterpoint:

“I think it’s a good idea,” new Western Kentucky head coach Mike Sanford told CoachingSearch. “That’s gotten out of control, it really has. If you really want to hire that coach and the value of getting the coach on the staff, then chose the coach over the recruit. If you do truly just want to get a recruit, then abide by that rule.”

Methinks Kirby doth protest too much, but I’m not the one with the big budget for analysts.

11 Comments

Filed under College Football, Recruiting, The NCAA

11 responses to “Coaches crossfire

  1. Scott

    Perhaps Kirby should never utter a word in public, then he wouldn’t be taken to task for practically anything he says that is critical, constructive, or in disagreement with the subject at hand.

    Then, his silence would be written-about as snobbish, aloof, press-negative, arrogant, etc., etc., etc.

    He’s in a no-win situation with some folks. Don’t know if it’s jealousy, another emotion, or if Kirby-bashing on a daily basis for the any minutiae in the greater scope of what he says without regard for context simply increases click-rates.

    Like

    • Don’t know if it’s jealousy, another emotion, or if Kirby-bashing on a daily basis for the any minutiae in the greater scope of what he says without regard for context simply increases click-rates.

      You’re right. Bless your heart, you don’t have the first clue.

      Like

      • Scott

        You’re absolutely right that I’m clueless. I don’t understand the over-arching negativity about Kirby that doesn’t seem to be objective. I would love to know your motive. Please enlighten…I’ll do my best to comprehend.

        Like

        • I don’t understand the over-arching negativity about Kirby that doesn’t seem to be objective.

          Since I don’t buy into your characterization — speaking of objectivity — I don’t have any way to explain myself to you.

          I’m not sure why this is worth getting worked up about, or why you feel the need to question my motives. If Georgia makes it to the SECCG this season, it’s all good, right?

          Like

          • Scott

            I’m just trying to understand where you’re really coming from when putting chinks in Kirby’s armor quite often. If I knew maybe I’d agree. As it is, my perception is that you snipe at him whenever the opportunity rises, but on fewer occasions prop him up when those positive moments appear.

            I enjoy your blog and most of the time agree with or learn from your opinions…I think I read every post daily. I just don’t understand this focus on the negativity when it comes to CKS.

            Like

            • Well, I come from it the same place I come from everywhere else when I blog. There’s nothing special in that regard to my feelings about Georgia football, 2017 edition.

              It’s certainly got nothing to do with absurd suggestions about my emotional well-being. And those of you who suggest it’s got something to do which chasing clicks have a detached from reality view of what ad revenue at GTP must be, assuming I ever had a business plan in the first place.

              Outside of recruiting, what exactly has Smart done in his first sixteen months on the job that has you so excited? If it’s more about hope than anything, that’s fine, but that’s something Mark Richt cured me of several years ago.

              I comment positively about Smart when he gives me something concrete to blog about. That’s it.

              Like

              • Scott

                You’re right, it’s simply “hope”. I have to admit that I was also excited about the Ray Goff hire by CVD. I think I’ll know a lot more in year two and certainly by year three will know if he’s a keeper.

                Like

                • And, look, that’s okay. I don’t write with the expectation that everyone is going to agree with me. I just write where my mood takes me.

                  Trust me, I’d love to have good things to post about, but this isn’t the time of year when there’s much more than talk to go on. I can’t do that.

                  If there are positive developments on display during G-Day, believe me, you’ll read about them here.

                  Like

  2. Scott

    We love dirty laundry as the song goes…

    Like

  3. The 984

    Does the rule prevent being hired at all by a school? Or can they be hired on as an analyst? What about a young coach who decides to become a grad assistant?

    Like