“It was quintessential Paul Johnson to…”

… what, show his ass?

… Johnson has claimed for years there wasn’t much difference between his league and the SEC, which earned a laugh track from Georgia fans when Mark Richt beat him five years in a row.

But with Johnson winning in his last two trips to Athens, plus the Orange Bowl victory against Mississippi State and wins last season over Vanderbilt and Kentucky, Georgia Tech is holding up its end of the bargain. And if the Yellow Jackets beat Tennessee to open the 2017 season at Atlanta’s new Mercedes-Benz Stadium, don’t be surprised if he trolls the big, bad SEC again.

“Week in and week out, I promise you there isn’t any difference in lining up and playing those guys than there is playing North Carolina, Clemson and Virginia Tech,” Johnson said. “What happened in my opinion is you had really good teams at the top of their league and they got credit. It was almost like the ACC in basketball this year. They all get ranked in the top 15 and then when they beat each other they don’t ever drop. Then you get to the tournament and you don’t do so well and you start thinking maybe they were overhyped.”

Funny how he’s a lot chattier about that when he’s on a good streak, which isn’t that often.

Look, the man deserves some credit for milking the talent he has on hand to great effect, but it’s as if he expects the world to take note of it more loudly than it does.  When that doesn’t happen, the genius steps out.

The bad thing about all this is that I’m almost at the point where I’ll be rooting for Tennessee to win that opener.  GT-UT may not be a meteor game, but it’s certainly a meteor coaching match.  Cheering for Booch doesn’t sit well with me.  Thanks, Paul.

22 Comments

Filed under Georgia Tech Football

22 responses to ““It was quintessential Paul Johnson to…”

  1. I am rooting for a meteor in that game. We need to go to Atlanta and put a 6:09 type of @$$ kicking on them. It’s too bad we have Chaney as an offensive coordinator. We couldn’t score 50 against air or Nicholls or ULL.

    Like

  2. NG Dawg

    Can they both lose! Please! As much as I dislike Tech, I hate the Urnge even more! There’s no way that I can ever pull for Booch or the Inbreds. The SEC needs to up its game against any and all out of conference foes, especially the ACC. Go DAWGS!

    Like

    • I dunno… there’s a part of me that would enjoy Booch lauding Johnson as a “champion of life” after a UT win.

      Of course, he might refer to his own team that way if UT lost. From a personal perspective, I suppose that’s a win-win. 😉

      Like

    • PTCDAWG

      Doesn’t really matter who you pull for…that said, GT losing is always good.

      Like

  3. Uglydawg

    He”s a horse’s ass, but yes we have to give him credit for “milking the talent he has on hand”, and admit that his offensive scheme is effective and let’s him play at a higher level with one and two star players. The fact that CMR admitted that the team worked on defending that scheme every week is pretty telling. Don’t get me wrong..I hate it and I loathe GT, but unless a team has a couple of weeks to prepare, defending that shit is a handful. That’s just reality. Now what to do about the TN/ GT matchup? I hate to say it but I will have to be for the hillbillys because of the run PJ has had against the SEC and I’m sick of hearing about it from my nerd acquaintances. Tennessee is probably going to extend PJ’s streak, though. If Georgia doesn’t humiliate both of them this year, I’ll be disappointed

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Truthfully, cpj is whistling in the graveyard. He and all of the techmites know that each of their 3 wins agains UGA this century were products of UGA gifts rather than gtu play. Stafford inexplicably threw straight to a gtu DB in the red zone for a pick six, pooch kick, and us having 3 DBs go out in the last half of the 4th quarter last year after we failed to score the clincher.

    I am ready to put 10 straight on the nerds and to just simply shut them and their chop blocking selves up.

    Like

  5. Rampdawg

    A 50 something to 3 win for the Dawgs over the yeller joketts this year will make me throw a fish fry.

    Like

  6. Macallanlover

    I really enjoy watching TN lose and their fans suffer so I will probably enjoy GT winning that game more. TN is a bigger rival to me, and one we go head to head with on recruits. Aggravates me that we have let them regain the all time series lead against UGA the past two games so having TN and Sgt Carter take a shot on national TV from a school with little respect may help lead to more turnover in Knoxville. Never liked GT but don’t get as worked up as many of you here do. We get no credit for beating them, just hear crap when they pull the upset. I wish they would go away so we could improve the schedule.

    That game pales in importance when compared to the game two days earlier in Atlanta as Bama and FSU represent the SEC and ACC. Have no idea which team will be better, kind of leaning FSU from first glance.

    Like

  7. The good thing about UT vs. Tech is that some good is going to come out of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dawgman3000

    Talk about a losing catch 22 pulling for either of those 2……….sheesh

    Like

  9. Jerandmeka

    I think the Tennessee spring game halftime “midway game” of throwing the Hail Mary over and over sealed the deal for me. Fish Fry is an insufferable piece of excrement, but Sgt. Carter and the big urnge took obnoxious to another level.

    Like

    • Macallanlover

      Honestly, they did the same thing last year in trying to simulate a famous Peyton Manning TD pass from the 90s. It is our own fault for providing a bad defensive setup and allowing that God awful Hail Mary to happen, afraid we will see, and hear, about that terrible event for a long, long time. Of course, they have been listening to the Hobnail Boot play every year since 2002. We all have our nightmares to deal with.

      Like

      • old dawg

        The Vols have their own cross to bear…they know Alabama will put an L on them every season (Sir Nick owns them)…Saban asked the NCAA if he could play the Vols twice each year so he could pick up two sure wins…

        Like

  10. steve

    In 1980 UGa was peripherally involved in a special GT game:NYT: ‘Nov. 8— Georgia Tech, despite having its worst season in 46 years, had one of the biggest days in its 89 years of football today when it ended Notre Dame’s chances for a perfect season by achieving a 3-3 tie with the undefeated Irish’. This was a big deal for us b/c we were 2nd in the polls and undefeated at the time (Herschel Walker). GT actually helped us with the tie…and I know ties are rare now, but are possible. I remember hearing the scores on the car radio and was blissfully transported to CFB paradise for about 15 minutes….
    ANYTHING that hobbles UTK is good for the environment, world, SEC, and UGa. Maybe their next HC will be Derek’s cousin.

    Like

  11. Go Dawgs!

    I’m not rooting for any meteors. For one thing, I don’t want to blow up the damn building right after they (theoretically) get it built. And second, I hate Tech and Paul Johnson so damn much that I might even consider wearing orange that night. Rocky Top, you’ll be home sweet home to me for that one night only.

    Like

    • Macallanlover

      With you on meteors, and freak tornadoes, but throwing up in my mouth about that last sentence. Never, never go there.

      Like

  12. Dylan Dreyer's Booty

    Maybe that new stadium roof will malfunction and fall in on both teams. Jk, I think.

    Like

  13. Over the last year, I have heard a lot of GT fans wondering if PJ will ever get them to some sort of elite level.

    I doubt he does anything to give them more confidence in the near future.

    His system works at times but he resuits like dog crap and has no ability to constantly beat elite defenses

    Like