When you’re on a need to know basis…

… and the coach doesn’t think you need to know anything:

UGASports.com: Which lesser-known players really turned heads during practices and in the spring game?

Lowery: “I can’t really comment on practices because Dan Mullen closed all of them save for one 20-minute stretching period…”

C’mon, man.  You’re not really trying if you can’t figure out something from a stretching period.

If Trump wants to stop all the leaking from his administration, he ought to hire a bunch of SEC coaches.  They don’t seem to have any problem at all locking down the media.

14 Comments

Filed under SEC Football

14 responses to “When you’re on a need to know basis…

  1. Macallanlover

    While shutting off practices to the media is so simple a caveman can do it, I am impressed with the ability HCs have to prevent the 130 person group allowed inside those practices to keep leaks from occurring regularly. I mean the 3rd string, walk-on punter never says anything to a friend, who then says something to the hairdresser, who repeats it to the news reporter, or social media obsessed air head, about whether Chubb has a knee brace on at practice, or Ramsey is getting all the 1st team reps because Eason is unable to practice due to concussion like symptoms?

    I mean come on, these are 18-23 year olds who have to be pressed daily for inside info, and many of them are never going to play anyway so they have little to risk. More than impressed, this cloak of secrecy I have seen for years is amazing given the interest.

    Like

    • There are leaks. The sports press is disinclined to report them because 1) there’s no public need for the info and 2) printing leaks is likely to result in less access for the reporter. In short, there’s no comparison to the world of politics.

      How do we know there are leaks? Our host is the repository of salicious info on CJP and he won’t tell us what it is. Why? He wants to maintain his source. For what? More leaks.

      I have no doubt that there are members of the traditional media that have the same info on “background.”

      Like

      • How do we know there are leaks? Our host is the repository of salicious info on CJP and he won’t tell us what it is. Why? He wants to maintain his source. For what? More leaks.

        Actually, it was because I gave my word I wouldn’t disclose the information. There was no quid pro quo.

        Hard to believe, but sometimes people act of our sheer decency.

        Liked by 1 person

        • If you took what I said as an insult it wasn’t intended. Either way you’re keeping your word and there’s nothing wrong with that.

          Like

          • I didn’t take it as an insult. I was merely providing context. I’m told a lot of stuff in confidence and it’s important to me that people know they can trust that I won’t breach that, even if they never have another piece of information to share.

            Like

            • You can do the right thing without having an angle. To the extent it was implied that your confidence relied exclusively upon the angle, I did not have that in mind. My assumption is that anyone that has anything worth sharing, will probably have something worth sharing in the future, but there also nothing wrong with maintaining confidence over a death bed confession. In fact it’s quite honorable.

              Like

      • Macallanlover

        But “leaks”, as we well know, are planted and available on social media with no legit press involvement. KS may know it had to come from within the family, but would have no way to trace it. I am not unhappy with this, as I think it is admirable to maintain confidences, but it would be simple to have a dozen “deep throats” at various times during a season, but we don’t.

        Like

        • Who would believe them?

          I just don’t think there’s the same market for it. With politics you have conspiritorial nutjobs who will believe anything that reaffirms their preexisting notions about things.

          I’m sure there are people who post gossip at various places, but I’m not sure you could have the sports equivilant of Alex Jones:

          We didn’t lose to Florida! That’s just what they want you to believe. It’s all a false flag!

          There’s a market for blather and for stupid in sports media, but I’m not sure there’s a market for rumor mongering and if there were, why would anybody in the know talk to them?

          Like

          • Hogbody Spradlin

            “With politics you have conspiritorial nutjobs who will believe anything that reaffirms their preexisting notions about things.”

            Seldom, Dreck, has a more self descriptive statement been written. You pegged yourself to a T.

            Like

  2. AusDawg85

    Let’s get Sean Spicer as UGA SID!

    Like

  3. Dylan Dreyer's Booty

    Hiring SEC coaches wouldn’t help Trump unless they can take away his phone. He’s his own worst enemy, and he cant see it.

    Like

  4. 69Dawg

    The problem with anonymous sources is that there is an internet. Bloggers get paid by traffic. Now if I want some traffic but I have nothing, I can watch my site generate no traffic (money) or I can just make some shit up and credit it to an anonymous source. It has gotten so bad on the net and on the MJM including Fox that the minute I hear “anonymous sources” I assume it is just a lie. If anybody in the media has any integrity left besides the good Senator, I would be totally shocked. College sports reporting is a business and anybody that put faith in the truthfulness of an anonymous source is a sucker. Unfortunately there is “A SUCKER BORN EVERY MINUTE”. Skeptic Dawg would be proud.

    Like